Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Does anyone know how to launch a windows shortcut from within a batch file?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Why use a short cut, why not just launch the program.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Well with a batch file I can launch several programs at the same time. I'm thinking specifically of launching the LAN and then the broadband connection and Internet Explorer/outlook Express. Before I got broadband I could launch Internet Explorer hit a link and the dialup connection would start automatically. Now I get a page not found error.

    Arh - I suddenly see what you are getting at - why not call the program directly rather italic than the shortcut. I don't know how to do that for a LAN. But I still think it could be useful to get lnk files to work in a batch file.

    Chris

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Again, why waste your computer time, it is just like using a bat file to start a bat file, when you all one needed to do was to run the needed bat in the first place.
    Also the error message "page not" found, could mean that the lan and or broadband connection has not been completed so the web site could not be opened. Things MUST be completed before some other things can be started.

    By the way how many seconds do you expect to save?
    Or how many calories will you not burn up by clicking on the different icons?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Hmn - I'm not sure I appreciate this answer! I don't agree with the reasoning.

    First of all a shortcut is not a batch file (is it?) so it's not like running a batch file within a batch file. A batch file can run a series of commands in one go. You acknowledge this with your reference to seconds and calories. Moreover, saving seconds and not burning calories are your assumptions of my reasons (that's the part I don't appreciate). It's more a question of preference. If I prefer to do something one way and it's not interfering with the freedom of others - then that's my free choice. I wouldn't tell you whether to use a mouse or a pen or how to set up your desktop.

    I realise that 'page not found' means the connection has not been completed - but when I was using a dialup connection using a link would start up the connection process. With broadband it doesn't. If there is a setting I can change so that broadband will do this then that will solve this specific issue.

    Using two shortcuts to get onto the internet seems very untidy to me. Moreover they take up twice as much space on the desktop. Finally, I feel if I can learn how to use lnks in batch files I may be be able to find uses beyond the specific ase in question. The more skill, the more tools - the greater the opportunity. I'm sorry but I found your answer rather negative.

    Chris

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Try using the DOS START command.
    Legare Coleman

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    When you are saying Broadband, do you mean a DSL connection?
    If so I have seen that MOST DSL connections take longer to connect than the dial ups did.

    Also remember that the lan should be started on the startup of the computer so why would one be restarting it? This could also be you problem since the lan is trying to restart.

    What kind of lan are you trying to start?

    And yes, a link is a new special type of batch file.

    My reference to a bat to run another bat file, was NOT referrenig to a nested file as a seperate branch, but just a one liner to run the prime bat file.

    What DOS command are you using to "Run" the shortcut link?
    What is the full path and file name of the shortcuts ypu are trying to use?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Thanks for writing back, Dave. The Lan is in the Lan or High Speed Internet section under Network Connections. It isn't enabled when the computer starts up.The device is a Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast ethernet Nic. I enable the network as part of the process of going online. After enabling it I can set the broadband ADSL connection going (Wan miniport PPPOE). I don't have the network enabled the whole time. I don't understand why I need to enable the Realtek Lan to use the broadband connection - is that just the way it is?

    I thought if I could make a nested batch file I could get it to enable the network, enable the ADSL broadband, and then open Intenet Explorer in one fell swoop. That way I'd only need one button in the quick launch bar - at the moment I have three having moved the LAN/broadband shortcuts off the desktop.

    ADSL connects much faster than my old dialup network connection did but that would connect wehn I hit send/receive within outlook express - the ADSL connection doesn't.

    I guess I feel uncomfortable having the network enabled all the time. You can tell me I'm being irrational! <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>

    Chris

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    Thanks Legare. I've tried using start and it just opens a command prompt window.

    Chris

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    What DOS command are you using to "Run" the shortcut link?
    What is the full path and file name of the shortcuts you are trying to use?


    The fact that ASDL can be ALWAYS on, is the main reason for haing it other that speed. If one has a GOOD or better firewall there is NO need of NOT having it (the network and ADSL connection) on.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    I've tried start, call, cmd.exe and no command at all. Here are some examples. I've also tried the following examples without .lnk as well

    Cocuments and Settingsall usersDesktoptiki tiki flets.lnk
    (this works in the run box but not in a bat file)

    call "Cocuments and Settingsall usersDesktoptiki tiki flets.lnk"

    start "Cocuments and Settingsall usersDesktoptiki tiki flets.lnk"

    start tiki tiki flets.lnk

    cmd.exe "Cocuments and Settingsall usersDesktoptiki tiki flets.lnk"

    As can be seen I'm groping around in the dark!

    Chris

    PS Perhaps I'm paranoid but I still feel not being connected to teh inerent is more secure than being connected to the internet not matter how secure the firewall. Incidentally I think I prefer Sygate PFW to the Keiro one. Are there any advantages to having the PRO version?

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Launching shortcuts in batch files (Pro)

    I use ZoneAlarm the free version on every machine attached to a NetGear Router and a cable modem. The desktops are on 7/24 and some times the laptops are on 24 also.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •