Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    Whenever i have more than one browser open, (even if i click on a link & it opens a page) IE crashes. Even if a pop-up advert apppears, IE crashes. I have to press Ctrl Alt Del, and end the task, causing IE to close completley, and have to re open it. PLEASE HELP ME. Does anyone have this problem. I never had this problem before with Win XP PRO.
    My System
    Gateway 650
    640 MgRam
    WIn XP Pro

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    When you say "crashes," do you get any error messages on the screen or just a freeze? As long as you're having to do a Ctrl-Alt-Del anyway, could you take a look at what other applications or processes are running? Do you have up to date antivirus software installed? I guess it could also be possible that you have something on the order of "spyware" on your system. If you're not already doing so, it would be a good idea to try one of the free ones like AdAware or SpyBot. Be aware, though that AdAware is in the process of releasing a new version, so you may not be able to download the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> version for a day or two.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    Is that 64 MB or 640 MB of RAM? the latter is an odd number, so I'm guessing the former. To run XP reliably, you need 256 MB at a minimum, and then it's stable as all get out.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    Thanks for both responses. There are no errors showing up. I have Norton Internet Security 2003. I do ctl+alt+delete and see at high memory svchost. When I end task, I can resume. I have adware and i have checked for virus, nothing. And for the memory i have 640 MegRam, six hundred and forty. So I have plenty of ram. I have down below in my right system tray, 6 running applications. It really is annoying. I never had this problem before and I do not want to refomat again.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    OK, let's assume your virus checking is up to date. You should be aware that there are alleged "bad guys" that AdAware doesn't catch. Their databases have been pretty far out of date while they worked on a NEW version. It's now February, so the Version 6 may be available for download. In addition, you could also try SpyBot Search and Destroy. Would you like to run MSCONFIG and post a small screenshot of what you see in Startup to see if anyone here can help you spot something? For sure, I wouldn't consider doing a format and clean install YET. You may have to resort to that, but I think I would try a "repair" re-installation with the XP CD before I would start clean.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    mn072065,

    Maybe take a look at this article.
    Repair I.E. 6.0
    H Lewton

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    Thanks for the link. I tried both options, no luck. Still happens. I created a snapshot of my task manager but cannot figure how to make it 100k to attach to this forum. How do you resize?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    Jeez, I hope you don't have a screenshot that's 100K! Take a look at <!post=this post,158453>this post<!/post> for a small tutorial on how to upload a screenshot.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    i finally fixed it. I used method II from this site changing my registry. I'm so happy. I can't believe i finally fixed this stupid problem. Thanks to all for trying to help me.

    http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.p...p&Number=220529

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    By "method II from this site" I guess you mean ths tip proposed by HLEWTON, huh? Well, we're glad you got it fixed.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    Hi- I guess I counted my chickens too fast. This morning same probelm. If I have internet explorer open, and click a link from my eamil to open another explorer window, it hangs. I can't believe this is happening. I'm going to attempt to uninstall SP1 and try that.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Hangs in WIN XP Pro (WIn XP SP1)

    I guess I counted my chickens to fast. This morning same problem. I had IE open and clicked on a link to open another IE, BOOM! It hanged. I'm going to try to attempt to uninstall SP1 and see that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •