Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Recently I installed Ad-Aware 6. Since then when the PC starts Explorere opens up to the folder I installed Ad-aware into. This is annoying. I've chencked to make sure no instance of Windows Explorere is running in any startup folder but still it starts up. Has anyone else ever experienced rogue explorer start ups - what can I do about it?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Is AdAware set to "Scan on Windows startup?"

    There have been a few threads relating to an Explorer window opening on startup - but I can't pinpoint one immediately.
    Run "msinfo32" and locate the Startup Programs under Software Environment. Anything there point to the folder in question?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Which version did you install? A little over a year ago, when I first installed XP Pro, I kept having a McAfee Virus window opening at boot. After I un-checked one of their programs in MSCONFIG Startup, the window opening went away. I would check to see what AdAware 6 has running in Startup and disable it to see if that makes the window go away. Maybe it's that new "monitoring" program the Plus version includes.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Thanks Leif, thanks Big Al. I checked startup using msconfig and discovered two references to Ad-aware there. I think one was left over form when I uninstalled Ad-aware-5.83. I unchecked the old reference, rebooted and no more window. Incidentally the new monitoring program told me that something was altering my registry and asked me if I wanted to accept the change. Since it was me I agreed! I think I like the new Ad-aware much more than the old one. Updating the reference file is integrated into the main program and after being accused of not providing any updated reference files with the previous version Lavasoft have already provided one update with the new version and it's only just out.

    Cheers,

    Chris

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Are you using the freeware version?

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Hey Bruce I found The free Adware 6.0 and downloaded it from here. Adware 6.0

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/cowboydawg.gif> Cowboy, you Dawg! I was up and down that site and came up 'Early February' empty-handed.
    Good lookin' out! <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/yougo.gif>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    I'm using the plus edition. I bought it ages ago as a way of saying thank you to Lavasoft. I may well upgrade to the professional version for the same reason.

    Chris

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Thanks Cowboy!
    I came up with the same message as Bruce and went to several other sites that were advertised to have it and couldn't find it searching for a week.

    SMBP

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Explorer windows why (Pro)

    Yea they do have a habit of hiding things sometimes. But I have a habit of finding the hidden bone. <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •