Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adobe Acrobat 5 (Full)

    I don't really know where to post this - but does anyone know how to stop Acrobat creating its own folder in My Documents every time it opens?
    It's not crucial but it is irritating.
    Peter

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 5 (Full)

    There are going to be some things you are not going to be able to control. Just learn to live with it along with the My Documents, My Pictures, My Music and etc.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 5 (Full)

    Hi Peter,

    One way of doing this is to point 'My Documents' to another folder. You can do this with TweakUI and various other utilities.

    I run Win98 at home and have pointed 'My Documents' to another folder for performance reasons. There are minor downsides to this, such as the need to then point various programs to the correct folder (and some poorly written ones might not let you do this), but this is usually straightforward.

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 5 (Full)

    Thanks.
    I had thought of this but I've got so much VB code and macros that point to existing folders that I decided against it.
    We should probably think about that when we first set up instead of all just accepting that MS knows best.
    Peter

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 5 (Full)

    Tut, tut! <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> To quote from Murphy's Computer Laws
    <hr>All Constants are Variables. <hr>
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 5 (Full)

    Hi Peter,
    If those other progs refer to the required paths explicitly, rather than from the registry setting for the 'My Documents' path, they should continue to work correctly.
    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 5 (Full)

    I was thinking of changing 'My Documents' to say, 'My Other Documents' and then leaving 'My Documents' as a system folder! I hadn't thought of the simple expedient fof doing it your way, even though I'd moved MD's in the first place. D'oh!
    Thanks for that.
    Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •