Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: ReInstall

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ReInstall

    My friend was having trouble with an error message when she connected with the internet and she was told to reformat her computer. We reinstalled Windows 98 last night. When I have done this on my computer, everything came back just like the computer was brand new, clean desk top and everything. When we got done last night, all her old icons and backgrounds were still on her computer . What happened? She still got the error and got bumped off too. The error is an explorer error.
    Do you have any ideas for us.
    Lennymay

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    De you reformat the HD before re-installing? It sounds like you didn't otherwise there would be no trace left of the 'old stuff'!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ReInstall

    In addition to what Leif said, if you want to pause before you go any further and give us some more info about the error and the computer, maybe it's something that can be fixed. Otherwise, if you really feel like it's time to re-install, I believe Leif hit the nail on the head.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Sounds like you're talking apples and oranges here. I'd bet that you were using an OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) "Restore Disk", which does exactly what you described. You insert the CD, click Ok a few times and the restore disk reformats the HD and reinstalls all the programs, etc and your system looks just the way it did when you took it out of the box and set it up. On your friends system you seem to have simply reinstalled Windows over top of itself. This action did not reformat the HD. All programs, data and most settings that were there will remain. You need to backup your data to a removable media, collect your install disks for all your programs, games, utilities, etc., and I would suspect that you should find and print out some information about reformatting and reinstalling to keep next to you during the process. Then get thee to a DOS prompt and have at it !!!

    If this all seems rather daunting and complicated, then post back and I'm sure that someone on this forum will be able to lead you to the info you need to feel confident about doing this. I'll do a Google search on it and post back with the results. One caution.... don't be tempted to take the "easy way out" and use your restore disk on your friends system. That will only create more problems because that disk was created to match your hardware and software configuration from the manufacturer.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Southeast Alaska, Ketchikan, Alaska
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Doc: Breaking in: something doesn't make sense. I'm trying to initiate a new HD from an Win98 OEM CD and it won't restore to the original-out-of-the-box configuration like you say here. I've had some software changes in 2 1/2 years, added a scanner, but NO internal hardware changes. See my post 217119. What don't I understand? The single reply to my post didn't work. leif, Erickson?

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Leif,
    I think the key here might be "new" HD. That restore disk was made for the EXACT configuration of your machine when it shipped. If it shipped with a 4GB, 5400RPM drive and you are attempting to restore to a 20GB, 7200RPM drive the restore disk most likely won't recognize the drive. At least, that's the way it works in theory based on my understanding of the "Restore Disk" technology. <img src=/S/nuts.gif border=0 alt=nuts width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Leif,
    Didn't find what I was looking for yet, but Google turned up this little bit of info that might have some bearing on your situation, You didn't say what brand your system was.

    ' Readers say their hands are tied when it comes to HP's OS recovery CDs':
    http://www.infoworld.com/articles/op/xml/0...4/000724opfoste r.xml
    Quote: "A number of readers with different HP systems reported they were unable to replace their systems' original hard drive using the Windows CD they got from HP. Several said they were explicitly told by HP support that the recovery CD would not work with new hard drives and they needed to get a Microsoft retail version of the OS. Similar reports came from HP customers who had exchanged motherboards, only to find they needed a new copy of the OS even if their new motherboard came from HP. Are HP recovery CDs locked to the hard drive or the motherboard shipped with the system?"
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    This same thing may happen to machines from OTHER OEM's.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Leif,
    One last thought here. You say it's a "Win 98 OEM CD" you're using. If it's not a "Restore" or "System Restore" disk and just a Windows 98 install disk from the OEM, then all you will get is a Windows 98 install and not a complete system restore. <img src=/S/bingo.gif border=0 alt=bingo width=15 height=22>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Southeast Alaska, Ketchikan, Alaska
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Doc: I'm afraid that you and DaveA called it. I did put in a 20-gig HD replacing a 6.1gig, and my WIN 98 disk just says "MS WIN 98, for distribution with a new PC only". The WIN 98 SP1 disk seems MS original, and I got the WIN 98 SE updates disk from MS later. It is on a Dell Dimension V400 system. So now what? No one seems to have a clue how to get back my choice of COM ports 1,2,3,4. Until I do, I can't use my internal modem - or any, probably. Anyone have any idea if the Dell ConnectDirect CD can help & how? I can do a screen capture of its directory. It says 'for recovery purposes only" - but perhaps there is something on there I didn't recognize when I tried it? leif

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Leif,
    The problem is most likely related to a need for Dell drivers. Dell built PCs have certain proprietary hardware components that require Dell-specific drivers. If you originally bought the PC from Dell, contact them and ask if the required drivers are on that CD or if you can download what you need from their website. If you didn't buy the box from Dell, and there is no data of real importance on the system (I'd guess not at this point), then just pop that CD in and see what happens. You might be able to explore the CD and see what it's contents are (hold down the shift key when inserting the CD and when it stops trying to initilize, open My Computer, right click on the drive letter and chose "Explore" from the drop-down menu). Best case here is that the CD will run and install all the drivers that you are missing and you'll be good to go. Worst case would seem to be that Dell would want $$ for a CD with the correct drivers for your system. I'm betting that the drivers you need are on that CD. Good luck and let us know.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Southeast Alaska, Ketchikan, Alaska
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Doc: Lack-of-progress report. The Dell Dimension Resource CD has 29 folders under "drivers-WIN98", all ID-ed by numbers, some having subfolders. Opened all. Less than half even have a txt file, but was able to eliminate 60% as not relevant to this problem - probably. But some have no clue, some just have one file saying "DOS batch file", some have several executables. When I initiated the new HD, was I supposed to add ALL those files? surely some are for gear I don't have or for other configurations? How would I know? Dell's reaction to my querry was to refer me to a MS KB article #190554. I suspect resource conflict may contribute, so I'll set to work on that KB, but will also ask Dell YOUR question by tonight if I get nowhere. I've explored the directory of all the CDs - but most is meaningless to a common man. Do YOU know what I'm looking for? I'm almost afraid to upgrade to WIN2000 now (last resort). Maybe I should just add the new HD as a slave-2nd-HD? leif

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Leif,
    Sounds like the data you need to setup your system is on that Resource CD. What happens when you insert that CD ? Do any processes begin?? Does it prompt you to do anything ?? How about that KB article ?? Any info there?? I'll checkout the article myself later today and post back, but I think that a hard drive reformat and reinstall of your Dell drivers and OS is next on your list. Read and understand the situation before you act. I can't see how you are going to upgrade to Windows 2000 if you can't get Windows 98 reinstalled. Better to solve one problem before creating another. I really think the answer is on that Resource CD.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Southeast Alaska, Ketchikan, Alaska
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Doc: Many many thanks. The Plan: Re-Format the new HD, load WIN 98 OEM and SP1 CDs, then try to load the Dell Resource CD, then WIN98SE.
    When Dell Resource CD is inserted, it spins up but nothing happens 'till I go to My Computer and double-click its .exe. It comes up with a menu that is stunning for its lack of helpfulness. I've experimented, but little makes sense. If there is one command/file that I can use to cause everything to install, I can't ID it. There IS one txt file that warns amateurs to keep hands off, leave it to SysAdmin. Well, I'm Chief SysAdmin & Bottlewasher & know heck of a lot more about bottlewashing. So do you have suggestion for finding step-by-step use of that CD other than asking Dell? Question examples: some of those files under WIN98 Drivers are DOS Batch files -do I have to reboot in DOS mode or something to load those & if so, how to access them then? Grab my old DOS 6.2 manual? Some Driver files have more than 1 .exe file - which comes first & do I 2-click both/all?
    Or should I use "find" to see exactly which of the files on that CD are on my old HD? (Whatta chore!?!)
    That KB Article is only mildly helpful & I need more time to experiment, but I think you and others have nailed problem - your answer fit symptoms best.
    No one is going to respect PCs until this sort of process is natural. After putting him thru 5-years at Virginia Tech, my son the Computer Minor/Engineer Major will only say - "get a Mac!".

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: ReInstall

    Leif,
    After putting him thru 5-years at Virginia Tech, my son the Computer Minor/Engineer Major will only say - "get a Mac!". "
    I'm sure he meant a Big Mac !!! <img src=/S/burga.gif border=0 alt=burga width=40 height=15>

    I'm afraid that I will be unable to assist you further with your CD DOS issue. When it comes to DOS I'm practically illiterate. If it doesn't give me on-screen instructions, show me a picture or just plain auto-run and do it's own thing, I come to the lounge for help. <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

    I am surprised that the Dell CD didn't prove more helpful. Can you post a screemshot of the CDs contents ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •