Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Total Rookie

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Total Rookie

    OK - I just got Broadband and I don't know how I lived without it!! The concept of
    clicking a link and you're there before you blink.... OK my question:

    They give you a 'free' web page. I have the address to view the web page, but, I haven't
    a clue where to go to edit it. Should comcast have given me this information, or am I supposed
    to know how to do this on my own?

    Sorry for the newbie-basic-lite question - (My Access questions are usually a bit more sophisticated).

    Thank you for reading!!
    Michael

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Total Rookie

    Comcast should be your first port of call - I would imagine your space is password protected so you would need to log in.
    When you do log in, are there not any links to enable you to edit your own space?

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Total Rookie

    Thanks Leif - I am waiting for them to respond.
    The only link they gave me, was directly to the web page.
    So I am looking at a blank web page that says: Welcome to your web page !!

    Thanks !!
    Michael

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Total Rookie

    Unless I'm mistaken, the Comcast representative that installed your Cable modem should have asked you for a username (usually your Comcast account number) and password. The technician who set my account up wrote that information down on the receipt - which he left with me after the visit.

    You should be able to enter that here.

    Also, here is a list of FAQ relating to your web page on their servers.

    Hope this helps!

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Total Rookie

    This is when I start feeling like a moron <img src=/S/threadhead.gif border=0 alt=threadhead width=28 height=31>
    Last night I went to the first link you gave me. I knew about that one (!!)
    I do have a username & password that I entered.
    Then I clicked on My webpage
    Then I download the utility
    Then the screen has the 2 sides. I was even able to load a file on the
    right side of the screen.

    But - here is the big question. Where do I go from there? I want to start adding
    text to the webpage but have no idea how to get 'behind the scenes" to do it !!!

    When I click Site it asks for a site command. Is this it?

    Thanks so much for helping me !!
    Michael

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Total Rookie

    I'm sorry - I have never used the Comcast web space. I have a different web host for my site.

    If you don't find the answers in Comcast's FAQ and support sites, I'm sure their phone support will be able to get the answers for you.

    Good luck <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •