Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Commandline switches (2000)

    Just a quickie... is there a commandline switch (or equivalent) that will start Excel *without* loading any addins?

    Alan

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    2,697
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commandline switches (2000)

    See MS Knowledge Base artice 211481

    Andrew C

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commandline switches (2000)

    Put
    /automation
    behind the commandline:

    "crogram filesmicrosoft officeofficeexcel.exe" /automation
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commandline switches (2000)

    Thanks Jan and Andrew. I couldn't see the /automation switch documented in the MSKB article though. The "safe mode" /s switch does the following wrt Add-ins: The Addins dialog box still displays the selected addins. However, the addins are not loaded.

    Sounds like it's /automation I'm after. I have installed a couple of rather hefty add-ins I'm having a play with on occassion, but don't normally use them and would rather be without the extra overhead.

    Thanks again

    Alan

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commandline switches (2000)

    Hi Jan

    I'm revisiting this thread because I've found the /automation switch to be very handy indeed. I can't seem to find it documented anywhere though. Is it relevant to other Office programs? Word? What exactly does the switch do?

    thanks

    Alan

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commandline switches (2000)

    The Automation switch prevents Excel opening any add-in and any file(s) from it's XLSTART directory. It mimics Excel's behaviour when it is opened from VBA using the CreateObject method (Hence the name "Automation"), which also opens XL without any add-ins, templates, XLSTART files.

    Word has a similar switch: Look here.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commandline switches (2000)

    Thanks Jan. The Word equivalent appears to be /a (maybe short for automation?). The link to the XL2000: Startup Switches doesn't mention /automation (or /a for that matter). A bit odd, but no matter - you've sorted it for me now.

    cheers

    Alan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •