Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    I've installed XP pro on a new computer. After a few software installs, the PC has started to hang on boot up. I watched a boot-up log, and saw it hang up at MUP.SYS. If I used "Last Configuration that worked, I can get started, till I need to start WinXP again. One comment said the USB card might be a problem. Can't do that, the USB is on board the mobo (ECS K7S5A) Any ideas how to get past this?

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Read this http://www.iss.net/security_center/static/8752.php
    Also you might consider removing Or disabling the software you installed one at a time to see if there is a compatibility problem with one of those.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Cowboy,
    Thanks for the suggestion. However, these links talk about possible virus or other "outside" attacks. My system is new, not even connected to a LAN, and I get this. (Though I'm now connected.) It seems the boot process fails a random number of times (I've gotten to 6) before I get lucky and WinXP can load.

    As for removing components, the mobo is pretty self contained. I did strip down to the AGP video, mouse, kbd, the main HD and the CD. Still get this error. I even booted from my old Win98 drive, and no problem there.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Mup.Sys is the last driver loaded before the graphic user interface appears. Did the mup.sys problem happen after you applied sp1? Or has this been a problem from the get go? When did you note the beginning of this problem? If you have some restore points - you could try a system restore. Any reference to it from your event logs?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    The "gettest" go you can have. I built the computer. The second time I fired it up, I began having the problem. I use the computer now, but it's russian roulette for starting. (using the restart button on the case) between three to six times. Sometimes I wonder if the problem begins during shut-down. That seems to take a while.

    Now get this: I built two machines, the only differences being in the hard drives (both drives are recent enough to handle XP Pro). One machine: no problems at all. This one: the boot hangup.

    Bruce - (I think) it's USB 1.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Have you considered motherboard drivers as a possibility? Do you have SCSI drives? I do not mind the <gettest" go> but I once had a Gateway server that hung on mup.sys and it was a motherboard problem...

    You might want to list some of your event log here with both source and ID#

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Do you have a USB 2.0 card <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15> The reason 98 doesn't have this problem is Mup is an NT item.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Like I said, I have two duplicate machines. Using an ECS K7S5A Mobo with AMD Athlon 2000. And I will be building one more soon. The board comes with a set of SiS drivers. No SCSI involved.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    So did you change any CMOS settings?

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Can you disable usb from the bios? I have read about k7s5a's having usb problems, one in particular recently having a lot of problems with usb dropping out on him. Can you RMA the board? Your's wouldn't be the first motherboard ever to not work properly!!! I would suggest returning it if possible and starting fresh....

    kip

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    From what I've read, this issue seems to revolve frequently around new hardware installs & custom-built rigs. If you have recently updated to SP-1, this fix seems to have worked for a few people in your shoes: Uninstall Security Update Q311967. This update appears to have replaced the mup.sys.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MUP.SYS hangups (XP Pro SP1)

    Thanks everybody for your suggestions. I did reset the CMOS, no joy. I was planing to build (another) duplicate machine, so I swapped the mobo. The new mobo could reboot with NO PROBLEM! So, I took my original back & swapped it for another. Moral of the story: It could be something on the mother board, as well!

    Thanks again!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •