Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Briefcase probs on boot-up

    When I boot up my PC and also when I shut it down, I get the following annoying message in a large message box:

    Briefcase is making your file replicable so changes made to one replica can be synchronized with changes made to the other replica. Your database functions will continue to function normally; however, the size of the database will increase, and you may see additional fields in your tables.
    Do you want to continue - Yes No Cancel

    If I press Yes it attempts to update an MDE file which has some updating software on it, and fails, since you cannot make an MDE file replicable.
    So every time I close down or boot up I have to click No or Cancel to this message

    Do you know how can I stop the message happening every time I start or shut down??

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Briefcase probs on boot-up

    I have never used the Briefcase feature of windows, and I haven't used 95 in quite a while (though I think I have it running on a test machine here or there). But it looks like no one has responded, so my suggestion would be to uninstall the briefcase from Windows (Add/Remove Programs), and then reinstall it. That should clear everything out.

    Just a thought.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Briefcase probs on boot-up

    Thanks for the suggestion Drew. Briefcase is not part of Windows, it
    is a function of Access. I have Access 2000 and Access 97 operating on my PC
    I have not created any databases using Briefcase, since I have no need for it.
    I have no idea why it started to activate itself during windows startup and shut down procedures.

    Here is a description of Briefcase from Access's help screen.
    " Synchronize a replica by using Briefcase
    Synchronization is the process of updating two members of a replica set by exchanging all updated records and objects in each member. Two members are synchronized when the changes in each member have been applied to the other member. "

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Briefcase probs on boot-up

    I could swear that if you go into the Add/Remove Programs, then to Windows (setup/files/programs...it's the middle tab if I remember right), that there is a briefcase there that you can 'install/uninstall'.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Briefcase probs on boot-up

    Sorry, but briefcase IS part of Windows and has been for some time.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Briefcase probs on boot-up

    Apologies to all. Yes briefcase is part of windows!! I cannot find a reference to it anywhere in Settings | Control Panel | Add Remove programs.
    I found a folder called WindowsSendTo with a short cut called "My Briefcase.lnk" which points to C:WINDOWSDESKTOPMy Briefcase. This target file does not exist.

    My problem remains, why is briefcase self-activating on open and close of Windows? I have never tried to access Briefcase or activate it or install it.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Briefcase probs on boot-up

    When you are in the Add remove programs window, click the middle (from what I remember) tab, it should say Windows Setup, or something like that. If I remember right, the Briefcase isn't listed as a main item. It is an 'item' of one of the items listed though. Probably 'Accessories'.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •