Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Loading Internet Explorer

    I am trying to help a buddy solve some problems.
    Running Win98SE and have both Netscape and IE browsers loaded. High Speed internet connection.
    When we go online, Netscape is the default browser and loads normally.
    When we get out of Netscape and click on the IE icon a pop-up window appears
    "Work Offline - no connection to internet is available -----------"
    Two options : Work Offline OR Try Again. Click Try Again and IE loads right away.
    Would sure like to know why the foregoing is happening and what to do about it.
    Mucho Gracias.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    What are you internet connection settings in IE?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Sorry, I don't quite understand your question
    We are on DSL internet connection.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Have you told IE to use a LAN connection or is it still attempting to use a dial up connection?
    I have seen SEVERAL dual browser set ups and one seems to have missed making the changes in the secondary browser, assuming that the first settings would change in the second.
    Now do you under stand MY question?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Thanx Dave, but again I am not sure what you mean about telling IE to use a LAN connection. Fairly NEW at this game so some of the terminology I don't understand.
    Perhaps you could step me through it.

    Thanx.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    When you are in IE, go to the menu, select Tools, Internet Options. Then select the "Connection" tab and it will show how your computer is trying to connect to the internet.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    lindsay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Dave: Here is what I tried:
    Sorry I don't know how to send you a screen shot.
    Went to Tools, Internet Options, Connections:
    Clicked on LAN settings and a window came up
    Local Area Network (LAN) Settings
    I tried outting a check mark in the box "Automatically detect settings"
    Clicked OK and rebooted.

    When I went to IE again I got the same window
    "WORK OFF LINE No connection to internet available --------"
    Two options Work Offline and Try Again.

    Clicked on Try Again and IE loads normally.

    When I looked at Tools, Internet Options again and the Connections tab the box I had checked came up unchecked.

    Maybe I need some more SPECIFIC directions.

    Thanx mucho.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    You may want to check the Archives here.

    The "Work Offline / Try Again" message box frequently haunts users of DSL via PPPoE that connect through Access Manager or EnterNet. If this applies to you, follow the advice that I stuck in that older thread.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    lindsay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Thanx R2. In the archive you sent me to I found a reference to a Knowledge Base(?) article #303346. I went the Regedit route but was unable to find the two items mentioned LoadLCE and LoadSens. They did not appear anywhere in the right pane.

    Comments and directions from here greatly appreciated.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Are you using EnterNet or Access Manager to access your DSL connection? One of those should be listed as such in your Network Properties.

    Beyond that, this gets rather convoluted...

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    lindsay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    We are using Access Manager.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    If you have Access Manager, then I must believe the problem lies in the LoadSens and LoadLCE settings. Here is information from EnterNet/Access Manager on the issue. If you cannot find them directly, I would SEARCH my registry for LoadSens and LoadLCE. I suspect you will find them.

    Also, are you using MSN Messanger?
    _________________________________________________

    To recap the EnterNet recommendations are these:

    Q: Internet Explorer 5.x warns that the connection isn't available, Try again.

    A: Clicking on the Try again button will solve this problem until you close the Explorer. This error does not occur with other browsers. This warning is from the InterNet Explorer 5.0's sensing of the auto-connect feature not having tested with all types of connection-based software.

    When this warning occurs, make sure you have installed at least version 1.34, which includes an enhancement to work around the warning. Also, make sure that the Control Panel -> Internet Options -> Connections tab is set to "Never dial a connection".

    In some cases, this may not be enough. Users have reported three methods for getting around this error:

    1) Make the following entries using RegEdit:

    Create a registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftMediaPlayerPrefe rences
    Add a Dword parameter of ForceOnline
    Set ForceOnline = 0x00000001 (1)

    2) Using your Regedit, change the following entries from "Yes" or "Auto" to "No":

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionWebCheck
    "LoadSens"="No"
    "LoadLCE"="No"

    3. Some users have found that you can alleviate this warning by disabling the Loadwc.exe file. Be aware that this file may be required by other applications. We are including this unsupported workaround for users to try as a workaround. Use this workaround at your own risk:

    Using your File Explorer, in the WindowsSystem directory:

    Rename the file loadwc.exe to DoNotloadwc.exe

    Be aware that other problems may occur from other Microsoft files requiring this file. In that case, you may need to return it to it's original name.
    _________________________________________

    You will note, most other sources say to use "Auto" instead of "Yes" for LoadSens and LoadLCE -- but EnterNet recommends "NO". I would try it both ways and see if that works.

    Their first solution seems to be specific for people who have problems AFTER using MediaPlayer, and you do not report this.

    I have a collection of other possible solutions, if those don't work. References to all of these are available in this thread.

    1) DUMP ACCESS MANAGER. This is by far and away the best solution. I hate Access Manager anyways. Get RASPPPOE instead, and the problem will disappear.

    2) Run the IE5 repair tool and reboot. (This is usually not going to fix it, but it is on the list).


    3) Rename the three files associated with System Event Notification Service.
    These files are named Sens.dll, Sensapi.dll, and Senscfg.dll and must be renamed in DOS:

    a) Reboot in DOS mode, and change directory (cd) to C:WindowsSystem
    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] Rename all three files (ie: sensdll.old, etc.)
    c) Type exit to reboot


    4) Do BOTH of the EnterNet suggestions:

    a) Find "loadwc.exe" and rename it "DonotLoadwc.exe".

    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] Open the registry and Navigate to:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionWebCheck
    Look for LoadSens and LoadLCE in the right pane. Double-click on each and modify its value data to "No".

    If you ever have to repair IE, first rename "DonotLoadwc.exe" back to "Loadwc.exe" or you'll get a message that IE could not be repaired. After the repair is finished, rename it back again and go into the registry and redo the changes.
    ______________________


    The following are even more bizarre solutions that have been suggested -- they are only included for completeness sake:

    5) Uninstall and Reinstall the IP Driver:

    a. Load Control Panel/Network and Internet Connections/Network Connections

    b. Right click Local Area Connection/Properties

    c. Under the General tab, click the Configure... button. This brings up the Properties window for the Ethernet adapter.

    e. Click to the Driver tab, and click the Uninstall button.

    I was very surprised when my internet connection continued to work after doing this, I was expecting to have to reinstall it. I was even more surprised when I rebooted and it continued to work, even though Network Properties said I had no LAN connection.

    But then after the second reboot I was confronted with the Create New Connection wizard. I clicked through the process of setting up a new Internet connection, but then when I got to the end it said there was a problem setting up my new connection. However there isn't - it works great, and I no longer have the annoying Work Offline/Try Again button and am able to download streaming audio/video from the web with Media Player, just like I should!


    6) Fix Autodial. Several people report that "Autodial" can be the cause of this and they offer various solutions. Some of these seem to be only for earlier versions of Windows and IE -- so I do not know how accurate they are today. This is by far the most bizarre section and I don't really know what to make of it...

    Easy Way:
    1. Connect to the Internet
    2. Open Internet Explorer.
    3. When the PoP-Up asks you to "Work offline" or "Try Again" click on "Try Again"
    4. Click on Tools | Internet Options... | Connection tab.
    5. Click on "Auto-Dial" (Ed: on my IE this is NOT present nor necessary)
    6. Click on "Dial whenever a Network connection is not present"

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Hey Gerry,
    Just as a little aside here and for future reference, here's a pretty comprehensive explaination of how to make a screenshot image. Hope you find it useful.
    <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    Attached Files Attached Files
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Thanx again R2. That was a LOT of work writing that post. It is too involved for our talents and we have decided to live with having to click" TRY AGAIN" until we make the move to upgrade to XP in the not too distant future.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loading Internet Explorer

    Thanx Doc. I've printed that one out and filed it away.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •