Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    One suggestion I have is to make the link to your message number live.

    It took me some time to copy the message number and remove the space to find the original post you refer to. Unless I had a burning desire to see this through, I would not expend the effort to seek out the original post you refer to unless you demonstrated the willingness to make it easy for someone to figure out what you are talking about. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Thanx Michael, but we are not all 5 Star Loungers. If my format in the message is not up to standards I apologize. NEW at all this. The original message about the Error message was buried so deep I figured that this would be the best way to bring it to the attention of some helpers.
    We have been unable to clear the DW error message we get on bootup and are looking for new suggestions on what to try.
    Thanx for your response

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Hi PaJan,

    Did not intend to come across as condescending or offensive, but when referring to a post that is mentioned elsewhere it is best to use the tag panel to make it easier to find what is originally referred to. Many of the people which contribute here do so in their spare time without compensation and enabling loungers to respond with the least amount of research as to the nature of the problem will typically produce more replies because there are a lot of questions here and not much time to answer them! At the same time, loungers who reply to a post typically follow the post and the replies, therefore creating another thread which asks the same question as the orginal thread would typically be considered overkill. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Either one of the circled tags will make a live link to a previous or existing thread.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    DW error message

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 14-Feb-03 21:21. )</P>PLEASE refeto Post # <!post=21 1056, 211056>21 1056<!/post> and the responses. WE(Gerry and I) have tried all the offered ideas but with NO success.
    Anyone else have any suggestions?
    Thanx a lot in advance

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Have you Downloaded Spybot and ran it yet? Several webb sites said that it fixed the problem. Click Here

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Have you installed <font color=blue>Spybot v1.1</font color=blue> and the new<font color=blue>Ad-Aware 6.0</font color=blue>, downloaded the latest updates for each, and run them both??

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DW error message

    Since the same suggestion was presented to you in your original thread and you didn't seem to respond to it, hopefully you will follow Cowboy's and Bruce's suggestion. Looks like you've got a critter in your PC that ought not to be there. The new AdAware is great and it's <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> Please come back this time and let US know what (and how) you're doing.....

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    To recap:

    "When I first boot up I always get an error message
    "Dw This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down."
    WHAT does it mean and HOW can I correct for it or eliminate it?
    Thank you very much."

    OK, first off, to get that message, something called "DW" must be doing something, AND something must be calling "DW" to start during the boot sequence. If you REALLY can't get AdAware or Spybot to solve this, then LOOK for something called DW and rename it. ALSO, look in all Startup axis entries for the CALL to DW.

    If you don't know where to find all the calls made during the Startup sequence, use one of the programs here -- or better still, get the "Startup Lists" program and paste the ENTIRE results to this thread. That way, we can find the @#$!%.

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    I found this. Hope it helps.

    <font color=red>Plz help me . DW.EXE
    Saturday, June 15, 2002 at 5:59 am
    Posted by Gpran [find other messages by Gpran]
    Hi, Would appreciate a solution to the following problem, thanks. Everytime I start my computer I see the following message DW This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down. If the problem persists, contact the program vendor</font color=red>


    <font color=blue>re: Plz help me . DW.EXE
    Thursday, February 6, 2003 at 4:38 pm
    Posted by John Ahlin [find other messages by John Ahlin]
    I had the same problem. Running msconfig and looking through the startup programs identified the "dw.exe" program to be part of the "MediaLoads Intstaller" Unselecting it resolved the problem</font color=blue>

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Thank you and everyone else for all the suggestions. It will be the weekend before I can get back to the faulty computer to try all the ideas. Will Do and then will POST the results. Thanx again. Great site this Lounge. Often wonder what that Gator is drinking. Gator-Ade????

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Thanx BigAlDoc. Please refer to my Post # 226572. Will try all the ideas on the weekend and get back to you. Thanx.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    I think that is the "XP" dw.exe -- which is a whole different animal. I believe the users in question are talking about Win98.

  13. #13
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Post deleted by cowboydawg

  14. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Dang it R2, your right. Don't know what I was thinking. I think my other post is on the money I though. I hope. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> Hey have you ever thought about using R2D2. You know that Robot on Star Wars. Hope you don't take offence , just thought it was a cool name. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DW error message

    Luke always called him "R2" for short anyways... but that is another story.

    I think your other post is correct. However, I do not always trust the "MsConfig" Startup tab to give ALL the information, while some of the other programs -- and especially the Startu List -- will give you EVERYTHING that is started during a reboot.

    If the user is getting an error in "DW.exe", then:

    1) "DW.exe" is running from somewhere and causing an error.
    2) Something is telling "DW.exe" to run on reboot.

    To solve this, one can:

    1) Destroy DW.exe so that it cannot run and cause an error.
    2) Stop it from being called to run at startup.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •