Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    Hello -

    Recently when opening Word from taskbar, I have been receiving the message "Word encountered file corruption while opening C:Program Files...normal.dot. Part of this document may be recoverable. Attempt recovery now?"

    When I open Word from Start or Explorer, I do not get this message.

    (Yes, I did a fresh normal.dot and still get the message, only when opening via Taskbar )

    What does this mean?

    Thank you all.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    Have you tried deleting the Word shortcut from the Taskbar and Cutting and Pasting a fresh copy of the shortcut (from the Start Menu) onto the taskbar?

    It may be that the shortcut command settings are slightly different for the Taskbar version which is leading to the corruption

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    I agree with Gfamily. If you right click your taskbar shortcut & choose properties, a dialog box comes up. For the command line path, what do you have? I suspect that it may be pointing to the wrong place.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    Thanks, Guys, but, yes, I have tried and tried again and again to copy/paste the shortcut: from Start And from the program file itself.

    When I created the shortcut from Start, the Message about Corruption still appears.
    The target points to C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOfficeWINWORD.EXE"

    When I looked further at the properties box, I noticed Start in contained :"C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice" - which I then deleted. (Not only had Word opened, slowly from the taskbar, but it also opened 2 document windows. So, I thought deleting that line might affect that situation. Nope)

    I Restarted the puter, still this strange behavior.

    It is not a big deal to open Word from Start, but it's perplexing why opening it from Taskbar is suddenly bizarre. I have not added any programs recently.

    My thanks for your time on this.

    Curious

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    Did you try creating a shortcut from scratch--by right clicking & dragging winword.exe to the desktop & then renaming it? It just occurred to me!! What you do mean by shortcut on the taskbar? You can't drag a shortcut directly to the taskbar. Do you mean on one of the toolbars? What is your operating system? I'd try to narrow down the cause.
    1. Create a shortcut on the desktop & make sure it works correctly?
    2. Then try to change it's location.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    Hi, Phil -

    Yes, I dragged winword.exe to desktop, but didn

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    OK, you are dropping the shortcut on the QuickLaunch toolbar and not the taskbar.

    Does it always open 2 separate instances of Word from the QuickLaunch bar?

    Wait a minute...... are you double clicking the shortcut on the QuickLaunch bar by any chance? The only time I have seen this behaviour with W97 is when someone double clicks the shortcut, efecively launching the application twice.

    If two instances of Word are started at the same time and they both try and open Normal.dot, the "normal.dot has encontered ....". Normal.dot isn't actually corrupt, Word just thinks it is because another instance of Word was trying to get it at the same time.

    What OS, by the way?
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Word opened from Taskbar (97/SR-2)

    Bing-o -o O!

    You are SO right!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don't know when I got into that habit of double-clicking, but thank you so much for pointing that out. Terrific.

    Gratefully, Curious

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •