Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing Features

    Every once in a while, something comes up missing on this computer. This time it involves two things, the first being the Run command from the start menu. Every thing I've typed and appears in the pull down thingie has disappeared. For instance I use Regedit a lot, but now it reappears only if I type it in and don't boot.

    Secondly: in Internet Explorer 6.0, all the URL's that I've visited have disappeared from the Address bar. They appear if I start typing in the websites name, but there's no list when you click on the little pull down arrow.

    I believe that it must be something I've either done or neglected to check. I've been in Internet Options and found nothing to help. I don't know how to phrase my problem in the Knowledge Base, you have to be a foreign language expert to get any pertinent results in there.
    This forum is my last resort. I sure would appreciate someone's help with this.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    In Start/Settings/Taskbar and Start Menu...if you click the button circled below it will clear the history.

    [i]Edited to add the pic this time...[i]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Thank you Michael, but that's not what I'm trying to do.

    I want to click on Run, type in a program name and have it remain there even after I re-boot. The same for typed URL's in Internet Explorer.'s Address window. I want every one that used to be on the list to reappear if I care to go there again, whether it's today, tomorow or next week..
    Are you trying to tell me that clearing History will restore those things?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Clicking that button will CLEAR the history, not restore it. You might check under Control Panel/Internet Options/General tab and see how many days it is set to keep the pages in history.

    If these are disappearing every time you reboot, would be my guess that there is some third party privacy software running that removes traces of usage.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Have you used something like TweakUI to clear all your history? That utility has a setting on the Paranoia tab to clear history at logon. Xteq X-Setup also has settings that will change that behavior.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    I do have TweakUI, but never use it to do a lot of things and that's one of them.If Iwant to clear history, I can do it by myself. I'm not that lazy or helpless.

    As for X-Setup. never heard of it. There's got to be something else that's caused it. Come on Phil, put on your thinking cap and find a solution, it's not essential that I fix it, but it's driving me up a wall.

    I searched the KB but as usual, no help found there. It couldn't even find a topic near to my problem.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Days in History, set to 5 days and I never use that button to clear it.

    Here's something else I just noticed.
    All my log-in information has been removed, now I have to log-in everywhere, even here. I could close this forum, shut down, open it again and I'd still be logged in.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    The log in problem would be a cookie issue. I only used IE6 for a brief period then went back to 5.5 but I believe that IE6 gave the user more control over handling cookies. Sorry I can't point you any further without having IE6 to play around with. You might also check in the IE forum.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Thanks for trying Michael, I think I'll bite the bullet and call Microsoft.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Sounds like AutoComplete has been disabled...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Well, I bit the bullet and called Microsoft. After four hrs. on the phone, he gave up and I'm back where I started. In the course of helping me, some how the registry was broken and I had to revert to an earlier good one. Now I have to do over all the things I did in the missing two days. Good thing I keep a log of every thing I do and the time I do it.

    I've decided to live with things the way they are. The only suggestion Microsoft offered was to do a format and this problem sure ain't worth all that.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Hi, Duch ~

    It looks like R2 accidently replied to the wrong person....did you see his <post#=226541>post 226541</post#><IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/question.gif>

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Hi Michael:
    I thought that the clear button just removes everything from the Windows/Recent folder. I don't think it clears the MRU from any other place. Have you seen it clear anything else?

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    The "Clear History" button on Tools | Internet Options | General tab clears:

    1) The History folder
    2) The TypedURLs list

    The "Clear" button in the Documents menu frame on the Task bar | Properties | Start Menu Programs tab clears the "Recent" folder -- which is the Start button | Documents list.

    This sounds like an AutoComplete problem -- but it may be more involved than that. The Run... MRU list is not clearly AutoComplete related. But, AutoComplete is kind of a sub-set of the "IntelliSense" functions -- so this may be deeper rooted that just AutoComplete...

    If I remember correctly, clearing the Run MRU list using TweakUI or Xtec is not as simple as setting a registry value. I think it involves running commands during reboot that actively delete the storage of the MRU lists...

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Features

    Thanks for clarifying the "clear" buttons. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •