Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    please dont think I'm dumb. when I start up comp the screen resolution is at its lowest and colour at 8 bit. I can change this to 800x600 with 32 bit (highest colour) by going to control panel change screen resolution but if I switch off its back to low again next day when I start again. What have I done? I'm not aware of changing anything. And when I do change it to 800x600 x 32 bit it doesnt show any lower setting than 800x600 x 16 bit. Any ideas or help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    Is it starting up in the Safe Mode?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    thanks for reply Dave. on start up the desk top appears as normal briefly about 1 second (as I left it when I turned off)...then goes blank and re-appears with the low resolution 640x desktop screen. I guess it starts in safe mode as everything seems to work i.e. desktop appears mouse pointer works...?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    Start > Run ><pre>msconfig</pre>

    and tell us what is in your Startup...

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    morning Leif; Start>run>msconfig.....Under general...Normal startup- load all devices & drivers

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    No - do you have a Startup tab that lists all applications loading at startup?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (6.2 KB, 0 views)

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    ok yes and all boxes are checked

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    That might be the problem, which is why I asked what is listed.

    If you have an application loading at startup that is affecting your screen resolution, you don''t want it ticked, do you?

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    understood. but how do I tell which application effects screen resolution? or anything else for that matter.

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    We need a screen shot showing us what is checked and running!

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    Thanks everyone I've got the rogue program. somehow 2 dialers have got downloaded to view video (ukvideo_preview) I'm investigating this probably my teenage son!!! but now I cant uninstall them. on add/remove programs I get "error could not uninstall this program may be already uninstalled do you want to delete from list" but this is definately what is causing my problem. any tips on this one?

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    BECCLES, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    I would suggest the following action:
    Create a restore point. Manually delete the offending programme directories and associated Start button entries.
    Run Regedit; Start/Run/Regedit
    BACKUP YOUR CURRENT REGISTRY BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING !!!
    Now do a Find (for the offending programme name) - delete each entry - press F3 key to find the next item.
    When finished, shut down your Pc, wait 15 seconds for memory chip caches to clear, re-boot.
    Hopefully this will remove the problem.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/StephenElms_sig.jpg> Didn't think that I made my first post here on 5th February 2001...!

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    Hi, Jay ~

    "...teenage son...."? <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

    <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> If you install <font color=blue>Spybot v1.1</font color=blue> and the new <font color=blue>Ad-Aware 6.0</font color=blue>, download the latest updates for each and run them both, this will eliminate the rogue dialers and any other lurking offenders. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: low screen resolution on start up xp (xp home)

    Thanks dave,leif, cowboy,stephen.bruce....problem identified... hopefully know how to correct...good old Woody's Lounge if I get more problems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •