Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Gen, Gen, Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    Hello,

    Does anyone knows how to install a service pack for the runtime of AccessXP.

    Office SP1 and SP2 doesn't work.
    Error message is: The expected version of the product was not found on your system

    Thanks for any advice

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    You don't. The service pack has to be installed on the machine that created the setup for the runtime version. You can only apply the service pack to installed applications, and an Access runtime is not the same as installed Access.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    Hi Charlotte,
    Is it possible to get an updated version of AccessRT.msi included with office developer XP that would include the latest SP, or do you have to build your own msi package to do the install? The files are all in Office.cab or similar. Could you build a new cab file with the latest versions of the files... I imagine the msi file would still need updating to reflect file version numbers and sizes?

    Cheers
    Simon

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    It may be included in the service release for Developer XP, which is separate from the Office service release. I don't have XP developer on this machine, so I can't say for certain.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Gen, Gen, Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    Office XP SP1, SP2 and OfficeXP developer SP1 are installed on the machine that created the setup for the runtime version.

    But when I install the runtime on another machine SPs are not there.

    Any idea ?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    What exactly do you mean by "SPs are not there"? All you're installing is the Access runtime on the target machine, not any service packs.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Gen, Gen, Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    Exactly.

    All the service packs are on my development machine, but none are on the target machine.
    And when I try to install OfficeXP SP1 it says: The expected version of the product was not found on your system.

    So my question was :
    How can I install SPs for the runtime of AccessXP ???

    On my machine, on the target machine or whatever ???
    Do I need a special SP and where can I find it ???
    Have I to do something special on my computer ???

    Thanks for any help

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    You have to install the service packs on the target machine directly, not through your Access application installer. That is the responsibility of the administrator for that machine, not the Access developer. You really should be asking this question in the General Office Solutions forum, I think.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Gen, Gen, Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    > You have to install the service packs on the target machine directly,
    > not through your Access application installer.

    Sorry, I forget to say that when I try to install OfficeXP SP1 it's on the target machine.
    And the error message is : The expected version of the product was not found on your system.

    by the way in your first message you write:
    > The service pack has to be installed on the machine that created the setup > for the runtime version

    So should I work on the target or on the developer machine ?


    > That is the responsibility of the administrator for that machine, not the > Access developer.
    Sure, but in this case I'm both.


    > You really should be asking this question in the General Office Solutions > forum, I think.
    I think the runtime of AccessXP is something really specific to Access and to developer of Access.
    In fact it's not a part of Office, but of office developer. So I think Access forum's better than general office solution.

    Thanks for any help

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    Is Office XP installed on the target machine? If not, you can't install the service pack. If it is, then the problem is a question for the GOS forum because it isn't an Access issue, it's an Office issue. The Access runtime is not a qualifying product for the installation of a serivce pack on Office.
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    Pardon me for jumping in here, but we have the same issue with one of our clients. I believe that if you have all of the service packs installed on your development PC that creates the runtime package, then you will get the latest fixes in the runtime package, but I cannot confirm that yet. We will be doing some testing over the next few weeks and I'll post an update when we finish. The process we intend to use is to check the version of each of the files in the runtime package to see if they are the same as those on our development PC.

    In regard to your question about trying to apply Service Releases or Service Packs on a system with the runtime installed, you cannot, unless it also happens to have Office installed on it. That in itself tends to confirm my theory, but the proof is in the version numbers. Hope this makes sense.
    Wendell

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Gen, Gen, Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    Yes, it seems logical to install sp on development PC and to have it automatically install with the runtime, but it doesn't work for me.

    So I finally asked the question to Microsoft and they say it's the correct way. Their trying to help me, so when I got answers I will put them here.

    By the way when I create the package for the runtime I can choose the language of the runtime (by the way could you, or have I a international version of Office Developer ?), so what about the sp of a different language (but that's really another question, and for the moment stay simple :-)).

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    There is one nasty 'gotcha' to be aware of here. It is not really an Access issue, but it affects anyone trying to deploy Access Runtime applications to Win2000 machines.

    The scenario arises if you are developing on a machine with all the latest service packs, including Win2K service packs, AND you try to deploy your application to a machine which does not have the same service pack levels and which does not have Access Runtime (or Office Pro). For example, you develop on Win2K-SP2 or SP3, and try to deploy to a Win2K machine with no SP and no Runtime.

    The first part of the installation is to update some VB files, and to do this a reboot is required. However, the installation 'forgets' to flag the new versions to the registry, so when the reboot happens, Windows comes along and says, in effect, "you are not authorised to replace those files; I'm going to put back the original ones". Then the installation continues, finds the required files are missing, so starts all over again - a nasty vicious circle.

    The only way out is to deploy the pre-SP version of the VB files when you build the Access Runtime kit. The way to do this is documented in the help, but you do need to get a copy of the old files from somewhere - a trap if you updated your development machine and did not keep copies!

    Geoffrey.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    The access runtime files are NOT updated regardless of the SP level on the computer that builds the setup package. I'm running Office XP SP2 and Office Developer with SP1 and the ART files don't reflect these updates.

    The file that tipped me off was MSCAL.OCX which should be version 10.0.0.4024 on SP2, but is 10.0.0.2601 in the ART directory. This causes problems with my applications that use the Calendar control - it triggers an "Automation Error" on the machine running the "old" ART version. Once the calendar control was updated (copied over fromthe updated version), the control works fine. The real problem is: what else is not going to work correctly? What other files need to be updated? A few of my XP workstations that are running apps with ART take more time to open (the app) than my 98 machines . . . I don't know if this is a consequence of the files not being updated or what.

    Has anyone heard of MSFT posting an update to ART?

    Note: The ART files are NOT copied to the Office Developer machine by default - you have to manually copy then from the Office Developer disk. This may be the reason why the files are not updated when SP's are run . . . just a theory.

    Thanks,

    Rob

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Gen, Gen, Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AccessXP. Runtime. How to install SP (AccessXP)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by charlotte on 13-Mar-03 19:30. to remove profanity)</P>I finally had an answer from Microsoft:

    "There's, actually, no way to apply SPs to Access Runtime
    They don't made the SPs for the runtime because no bugs where corrected for the runtime. "

    I think it's only <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>, and your problem is a good sample. They forget to do SPs for ART !

    They are working on the SPs for ART. We can expect an english beta version at end of march/april. Release version later, and the french version (the which I'm waiting), later.

    When I have news I'll post them here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •