Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    help on installing hardrive,please

    many thanks for a really informative site.
    I wonder if you can help me,please?
    I have read up on what i need to know, but cannot find a specific clear answer.
    Last year [sept 02] i bought a patriot pc. it came with restore disks [which i have had to use once].
    this pc has a 20gb maxtor 2B620HI hardrive with pre-installed winxp Home edition.
    i have been given [as a birthdaypresent] a 80 gb maxtor Y30TY6LE h/drive.
    please, can you tell me, do you think the restore disks will work on the new hardrive? or do i have to buy winxp Home again?
    i'm not changing anything else, just the hard drive, which is the same make [but faster /bigger] than the factory installed one.
    many thanks in advance of any help you can give me.
    jacky

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    I've no experience with your model computer, but I can't imagine any reason why your system restore disk(s) wouldn't work on an "industry standard" hard drive. That's what they're there for. On the other hand, since you're going to have to open the case to do this anyway, if you don't mind spending a little $$$ you'd be well advised to take a look at PowerQuest's Drive Image. It has, as one of its features, the capability to COPY a hard drive, exactly. No OS re-installation, etc. necessary.....

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    I agree with Big Al. The restore disks should work OK.
    However,
    If you have room in your system to just add the second HD as a slave drive to the existing primary Maxtor, then you should not have to reload the OS at all. The system will recognize the new HD as a slave and you are in business with 100 GB of storage total. That sure the way I would do it. <img src=/S/bingo.gif border=0 alt=bingo width=15 height=22>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    Yes, add the drive as a second drive.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    thankyou to all who replied.i have been advised that keeping both hardrives may slow things down?. what i have decided to do, is use GHOST, and transfer everything to the new h/d. i really personally, dont need 100 gb, tempting tho it may be,but would like this pc to act faster, which is why i was given the new h/d.hopefully, it will be done tomorrow, so i'll let you know how i get on. many thanks again,
    jacky

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    I hear ya! However, for whatever future value this may be to you, I can't imagine that having a second hard drive in a system slows it down PERCEPTIBLY unless one of the drives was a really old "dog" that was maybe not performing too well. I don't know what the rated RPM or access times of the two drives are, but I sure would keep that 20 gig'er around, just in case. A secondary reason for keeping it IN the machine, since you already have Ghost, would be to store periodic images of your master drive. I know there are those who will say that having a backup drive in the SAME chassis is bad news, but it's certainly better than nothing.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    Again, I agree with Big Al. I think the Maxtor 20 gig you originally had was a 5400 rpm drive and the new one is 7200 rpm, so there may be a SLIGHT difference in speed but something that you probably won't notice or be startled by the difference. Whichever one you use as your primary, definitely keep the other as a secondary for additional storage. It will NOT slow things down just because it is an additional drive.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    What your advisors may have been alluding to is that if you were to add the new faster hd while keeping the OS on the old slower one, you wouldn't be gaining whatever speed advantage you get from a new faster drive. It's not going to make your system run slower to have two drives than one. If you want, though, it's amazing the price you can get on ebay for a 10-20g hd!!! Seems there's lots of people out there with older systems that won't recognize the newest monster hd's but they still want to upgrade.......

    kip

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    You want to give some consideration to using the second drive for you swap file. Even if the drive is a little slower you'd probably still have some improvement from less contention and head movement. Y could still use the rest of it for periodic backups.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    Doc & Viking: Could he not gain some performance by using the older hard drive for his Swap & Temp. Files? I know it helped me but then again both my Hard Drives are 7200 RPM just a thought. I know it sure makes a difference with Defraging my System Hard Drive.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    Whosoever told you that having two hard drives would slow you down is wrong.

    If using IDE, put each hard drive on a separate IDE controller.

    And, put the swap file on the fastest drive, likely the newer drive.

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    THere is a performance gain if the swap file is not on the same drive as the OS.

    It's better to have the OS on the faster drive.

    Each drive should be on a separate IDE channel.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    Boy I hope I'm not starting a flame war here, but: Howard within 2 minutes you say:

    1) THere is a performance gain if the swap file is not on the same drive as the OS.
    It's better to have the OS on the faster drive.


    and 2) And, put the swap file on the fastest drive , likely the newer drive.

    ???

    And to further the confusion, it's my understanding that given a common setup of 2 hd's and a cd, it's better to have the 2 hd's on one channel and the cd on the other. Now we could go round and round about this, and of course if there's no cd it IS better to have each hd on a separate channel, but for overall system performance, the most common setup would be IDE 0: hd master, hd slave; and IDE1) cd master, (cd or dvd slave)

    kip

  14. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    IDE-O{ New Hard Drive & OS: Primary Master}, {ROM Primary Slave}, IDE-1{Old Hard Drive & Swap File Secondary Master}, {ROM Secondary Slave}. You do not want both Hard Drives on the same IDE( no performance gain) . No war, only opinions. Besides it's only a computer. Try it one way and if you don't like it, try it another way, thats whats it's all about Bro. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: help on installing hardrive,please

    OK I found this from google at "tweakhomepc" which for some reason gave a 404 when I tried to link it to here, but it is info that I have read other places as well:

    [i]1 Two devices co-exist on the same cable - primary as Master, secondary as Slave
    2 Different drives operate at different speeds
    3 All drives on the same cable always operate at the speed of the slower drive
    4 Smaller (older) drives tend to be slower than larger (newer) drives
    5 A drive tends to operate faster as the Master device
    6 The most important hard drive should always be set as Master, and SHOULD NOT have a slow IDE device on that cable e.g. a CD-ROM or a small (older) Hard Drive
    7 Having the most important software (the Operating System or Windows 95/98) on the fastest Hard Drive has a noticeable effect
    8 It is best to disable any non-existent slave device(s) in the CMOS set-up; then the BIOS will not wait for a non-response
    9 CD-ROM drives (usually PIO Mode 3 devices) are slower than HDDs (usually PIO Mode 4 or Ultra). Enabling DMA bus mastering for a HD on a CD-ROM shared channel may cause problems.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •