Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    System Restore (XP SP1)

    I've somehow turned off system restore. Get this message when I try to access it:

    System Restore has been turned off by group policy. To turn on System Restore, contact your domain Administrator.

    But can't seem to find what setting I need to turn back on. Any ideas, pointers?

    Thanks...

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    Hi, WJ ~

    Please do this:<UL><LI>Right-click 'My Computer' > 'Properties' > 'System Restore' tab<LI>Assuming you have just the root drive 'C:', make sure a checkmark is not present in the box next to 'Turn off System Restore on all drives'<LI>If you have more than one drive present below 'Available drives:', select a drive, then click the 'Settings' button and check to see if there is a checkmark in the box next to 'Turn off System Restore' on this drive.[/list]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    As long as the subject has been brought up - how does one restore the system if things go wrong? My system restore is turned on. Thanks.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    I found the answer in another thread. That assumes the computer will start and run enough to get to the system restore shortcut.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    No, that isn't it. I don't have a System Restore tab on the System Properties window.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    Are you sure you have "Admin permissions" if NOT that may be your problem.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    Try running gpedit.msc. The system restore controls are under Computer configuration | Administrative templates | System | System restore.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    Hi, WJ ~

    "No, that isn't it."?? You do have a 'System Restore' tab in the 'System Properties' window, but you will not see it if you are signed in under an account with limited privileges.

    If you would, please, post your resolution here in the thread you started so other Loungers in a similar predicament may benefit.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    '"No, that isn't it."?? You do have a 'System Restore' tab in the 'System Properties' window, but you will not see it if you are signed in under an account with limited privileges.'

    No, as I said, that wasn't it. There wasn't any System Restore tab, period. And I do have full admin privleges.

    Joeperez pointed me to the right area with "Try running gpedit.msc. The system restore controls are under Computer configuration | Administrative templates | System | System restore".

    In looking at the two settings there, I had ENABLED them at some point in the past, which one would think should have meant that System Restore would work. However, this is Microsoft we're dealing with, sigh. Read the text in the capture below. To me, it's like something out of Alice in Wonderland.

    I returned the settings of these 2 parms to NOT CONFIGURED, then rebooted. The System Restore tab is now visible and I can control it.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP SP1)

    Don't despair - I believe Babel Fish is planning a winspeak to english module
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •