Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Modem

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Modem

    My data flow from my modem has dropped from around 52k to barely over 28k. I've updated my driver, uninstalled and install to no avail. anyone have any suggestions. Thank-you!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Modem

    This sort of thing is often caused by degradation or damage to the actual phone line.

    You could try contacting the phone company and telling them that you keep hearing noise on the line.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Modem

    Or your line may have been switched to a dirty one, because some else complained. This goes on all the time.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem

    Thank-you both Stuart and Dave. I kinda was afraid this was the case. Guess I'll spend the extra money for cable!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem

    Before you spend $ on cable. Call the phone company. Do NOT tell them it is a modem issue, just a noise issue.
    I have been told for years that changing the wiring in the house from the wall jack to the box outside will help. In every case I have tried this it did not work.
    I HAVE found loose connections so double check.
    Finally have you added a new phone or FAX? Once I read about a new cordless phone being added on a seperate wall jack but the same phone line. Once removed from the phone jack things returned to normal. (I am positive it was Furo from Lockergnome if you know of him)

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem

    Thank-you to all who have replied!

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem

    Dave & Stuart,
    As an old EX-phone factory type, I can attest to the noise problem AND the line swapping routine when someone complains. Noise can drive your modem speeds right down the tubes. When you call and complain, they just send a repairman out and will very many times swap your cable pair with someone else and hope that the person who gets the noisy line won't know enough to report a trouble on his line.
    I've gotten to the point where if I see a phone truck parked out by the terminal box, I go to my phone and quickly check it for static to make sure I haven't been given a little present ! As I have a DSL line rather than just POTS (plain old telephone service) it's just as critical as dial up to have a clean line.

    BTW, for anyone who might want to know, the easiest way to check for noise or cross-talk on your line, is to just dial ONE number to remove the dial tone and then cover the transmitter part of the phone with your hand and listen for any static or faint other conversations in the background. The line should be free of ANY of this interference. You may have to do this a few times, since the inter-digital number timeout will occur after 20 -30 seconds.
    Hearing any of this noise, report this to Telco and DON'T mention modem or DSL in your report. If you do, they will throw you into the fingerpointing loop of "it's not my trouble it's HIS trouble" Then be insistant if you hear any more noise, even after they claim to have "fixed" the trouble OR they don't hear/see any trouble on your line !! Sometimes, it be a real battle but stick to it. <img src=/S/argue.gif border=0 alt=argue width=50 height=25>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem

    If you are running a 9x machine, replacing your Winsock files can also help (along with uninstalling and reinstalling DUN (Dial up networking)).

    On 9x machines, those files are pretty easy to corrupt, and can definitely decrease your transmission speeds. Though I would have to agree that line noise can definitely be an issue. If you know of any local BBSes (there are still a few around), see if you can hit them at faster speeds, since they aren't using TCP/IP and DUN. (You'd be dialing through HyperTerminal).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •