Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Not duplicating data entry (2000)

    I'm trying to build a form that puts information into a single table. The information includes
    a customer number, name of requestor (which can be different at different times) title of a document, and number of copies ordered. Nice and straight-forward.

    But I would like to not be required to repeat entry of the customer number and name of requestor, as that is often the same for two or three different titles at a time, but be able to change it when I'm ready to go on to entering the next order. Since all of this data goes into the same table, I'm a little more stumped than just using a sub-form for the item list. The customer number is the only thing that associates to the rest of the database (as it is used to pick up the name and address of the school).

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Not duplicating data entry (2000)

    A useful trick in Access is Ctrl+' (apostrophe). This shortcut key copies the value of the active field from the previous record to the current record.

    You can also use a combo box for the customer number and requestor name. As soon as the user types in the first few characters, Access will "jump" to the first corresponding item in the dropdown list and auto-complete the entry.

    It is possible to set up a form so that it copies all or some values automatically when a new record is created.

    Finally, you could create a command button that duplicates the current record to a new record, keeping all or some values.

    If you indicate what you would like, I or other Loungers will be able to give more detailed instructions.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not duplicating data entry (2000)

    I think the best option for this particular item would be to set up a form so that it copies all or some values automatically when a new record is created. Particularly since I can think of a a few other places where it would be really really useful.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Not duplicating data entry (2000)

    There was a thread on this subject about 9 months ago. I posted two demo databases (in Access 97 format) in <post#=138763>post 138763</post#> and <post#=139403>post 139403</post#>; download one of them (I would start with tthe first one mentioned) and see if it does what you want. If it doesn't, or if you want something else, or need more assistance, post back.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not duplicating data entry (2000)

    Well, I thought that looked easy, but now I have a couple of questions:
    I have two forms that I would really like to do this in.

    The more straight-forward of the two is the one I mentioned earlier. I want it to copy the fields NIE and FormRequestor.
    I played with the form in the database that you sent me, and I was able to make it select only one field, but I can't seem to make my own forms do that. I tried to look thoroughly through the properties sheets to see if there was something I missed, but I'm not spotting it.

    I also noticed that there's an event in on Current for the form itself, does this have specific code that I would have to adjust, or could I just copy it to my own form?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Not duplicating data entry (2000)

    To use the example from the first post I mentioned in your own database, you must do the following:
    1. <LI>Import the module modAutoFillNewRecords from the demo database into your database.
      <LI>Put =AutoFillNewRecord([Form]) in the OnCurrent event of the form. It doesn't need to be modified.
      <LI>Create a text box named AutoFillNewRecordFields on the form.
      <LI>If you want to duplicate *all* fields, you're ready. But if you want to duplicate only a few fields, set the default value property of the text box to the semicolon-separated list of field names, enclosed in double quotes, for example "Last Name;First Name;SSN"
    That should do it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •