2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Report problem (Access 2002)

I'm new to Access forgive me if I ask some dumb questions. I'm trying to create some quick and dirty reports to display details and pictures about certain real estate properties. I've set up my tables and created the report, I thought everything was going well, until I tried to print the report. One of the tables I set up is a Photos table, which consists of two text and one OLE Object type column. I created a form based on the Photos table and populated the OLE object using the form. For some reason when I preview or print the report, the picture doesn't print, all I get is the name of the jpeg file that I expect to be displayed. Can anyone tell me what I've done wrong or point me in the direction of a solution? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Report problem (Access 2002)

Serious warning: don't use an OLE field to store pictures in a database. It will cause the database to grow in size very fast. The reason is that Access stores an uncompressed bitmap image of each picture in the database as well as the original format. Say you have an 800 x 600 full color picture of a house - it's a (say) 80 KB jpg image. Access will store the 80 KB jpg plus a 1875 KB bitmap!

The best way to handle pictures is to keep them as separate files and store the path+file name in a text field in the database. Display them in forms and reports using an Image control, not an OLE control. Charlotte has posted a sample database in <post#=126927>post 126927</post#> that demonstrates how to handle this.

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks Hans, I'll give it a try.

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks