Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Disable Hard Drive

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Loungers

    Is there a way to <font color=red> TEMPORARALY</font color=red> disable the hard drive and make it inoperable, and then <font color=blue>"Flip the switch"</font color=blue> so to speak and make it work again?

    I need to ship a loaded hard drive overseas and I don't want any snooping to happen.

    Thanks in Advance

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    I can't think of any thing using "technology", BUT.... you could put it inside a locking briefcase (keyed or combination), and send the key (or combo) in a separate envelope....
    Christopher Baldrey

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Chris

    But I am shipping the whole PC so the box idea, though we did think of it, will not be too easy to make work.

    I was thinking of bending one of the pins where it connects, but that is way too dangerous and might become permanent if not careful.

    Maybe we can switch the jumpers around, but can't figure out which jumper will be OK to switch and that would have such an effect.

    OK thanks for your ideas.

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    Wassim,
    You could try moving the master/slave jumpers around, I suppose. Another way would be to make a very thin shim of plastic or other non conductive materail and insert it in the HD socket in such a way as to act as a "key" to prevent easy insertion of the IDE cable plug. I wouldn't try bending one of the pins, Too easy to break, then it REALLY would be hard to use. Reverse the plug in the MB socket would be another. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    Encrypt the files.

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    If the Hard drive is going to be loaded can't it be password protected upon bootup. I mean , if your shiping the PC with A loaded OS on the Hard Drive how are they going to get past the Log On Password if they don't know it. Even BIOS has a setting for Password Protection on most systems, just has to be turned on.
    You can also check this out. Boot Lock and Hard Disk Selection System

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    I like a combination (alteration) of Cowboy's suggestion. Go in to the BIOS and disable the IDE chain(s) and THEN put a password on the BIOS which you would send separately. Of course, the recipient would have to know how to go back to the BIOS and re-enable the IDE.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Howard

    But this is a whole hard drive, all 40GB of it, and encrypting all will not be possible. I did think of it, though, it took about 36 hours to do 36% of the drive.

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Cowboy

    This is what we will go with. We also installed a BIOS password, and with the lock, it should be all secure. This PC is not going to be without any human attention for more than the time to ship, clear customs, and then get to the office.

    Financial institutions, can't live with them, and can't shoot them. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable Hard Drive

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Big Al

    This is what we will do, and I'll ship the password via a phone call and stay on the line until they see the Windows 2000 logo screen and then I can make sure all is functioning the way it should.

    Thanks ALL for your wonderful suggestions.

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •