Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Zone Alarm New

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Zone Alarm New

    Just a post to advise that Zone Alarm has posted a new upgrade/update Ver 3.7.098 on it's website.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    Yes - and I've noticed it always asks if 'Spooler Service' can access the 'net - it never did that before. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    May I ask what spooler service means? thank you

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    Hey Jude ~

    A program that controls spooling (simultaneous peripheral operations on-line) or putting jobs on a queue and taking them off one at a time. Spooling refers to putting jobs in a buffer - the most common spooling application is print spooling - in which documents are loaded into a buffer (usually an area on a disk) and then the printer accesses and pulls them off the buffer at its own rate when it is ready.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    Thank you very much for the explanation, now it makes sense.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    Hi Bruce,
    Yes I DID notice that after doing the update. Didn't know why, so I disallowed it and still seems to work fine. Have to do a little more digging to find out about that little item. Let us know if you find something also.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    I have done the same thing disallowing it. I have not put the 'remember this' checkmark so that it will come up, but have not noticed a pattern yet. I am still diggin'.<IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/construction.gif>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    Hi Bruce,
    Yeah, nothing new here except that I did notice that there is a program check listed for "Spooler SubSystem App" in Zone Alarms list of programs. I have it set to "question" to see if I can tell when it wants to call home or something. <img src=/S/thinks.gif border=0 alt=thinks width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    Maybe you & Bruce could put up the ZA entry details on this new spooler?

    I upgraded ZA to 3.7.098 a couple of days ago (using existing settings), and haven't had any new spooler service looking to access the net. The only spooler in my ZA list is "Microsoft Windows(tm) Messaging Subsystem Spooler", for Outlook email.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    I was having a lot of problems with the previous release of ZAP. Of course, what passes for tech support over there just kept telling to uninstall & reinstall. When they came out with this update, I immediately applied it and the problems I was having all cleared up...

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    .
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    That looks like the standard print spooler to me. Maybe it's just looking a little further out for your printers? That is, if you've got "Automatically search for network folders and printers" enabled in folder options. That option disabled on my PC and that could be why spoolsv.exe doesn't appear in ZA.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    I have the new version installed on 4 machines and none have ANY spooler entry.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    On 4 machines - 2 Home & 2 Pro - all have always had "Automatically search for network folders and printers" disabled. 2 have printers and 2 do not. All have a program check listed for "Spooler SubSystem App" in Zone Alarms list of programs that never appeared until after this latest upgrade.

    Mind you, this is the Free and not the Pro version of Zone Alarm and when installing upgrade, the options are given to upgrade only to save settings or to do a clean install. I chose the latter for all 4.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm New

    My ZA is also the freebie. The only difference I can see is that I installed the upgrade using existing settings. I'm fresh out of ideas on how or why you and Bob scored this new spooler. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •