Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Application will run in one account only (XP Pro, SP 1)

    I'm having a problem with MS Money 2001 where it runs in
    my account ( the one in which it was installed), but not
    in my wife's account. Clicking the shortcut in the start
    menu causes the pointer to change briefly, but nothing
    else happens. What do I do to fix this? FWIW, I have
    not found any other apps that perform like this.
    However, we are having a similar problem with the
    shortcut in our IE favorites to Amazon.com. The shortcut
    works in my account, but not hers. Is this the same
    problem, or something different?

    Thanks for the help.
    Bill Lugg

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP Pro, SP 1)

    Try this , go to Windows Explorer , Program Files and find and click on Money 2001, and then on the right side window you should see some Icons and some files like in the box below { except mine is Quicken } and double click on the icon that looks like the one on your Desk Top. If it brings everything up like it should just right click on that icon and create another shortcut for your desk top and get rid of the one that doesn't work.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP P

    I've never had to try this in a workgroup (non-domain) environment, but I wonder what would happen if you right-click the Start Menu shortcut, click Properties and then Advanced and check the box in this attachment?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP P

    It pops up the "Run As" dialog, when you invoke the shortcut.

    I've used it for a few older apps that everyone needs access to, but only work when run by an administrator. To go along with that I've set up a "hidden" (by TweakUI) admin account that's only used for this purpose. It seems the easiest way to overcome some of the constraints imposed in XP Home by the "simple" file sharing. The only other way I know of is to dive in at the deep end with cacls and registry permissions.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP Pro, SP 1)

    I've already tried that and it doesn't come up that way either.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP P

    I tried this too, but using my account produces an error about blank passwords. Running as Administrator produces the same results as my wife running it as herself, in other words, nothing happens.

    Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP Pro, SP 1)

    Is MS Money designed to be shared accross user accounnts?

    Some accounting software is NOT designed to be shared.

    As for favorites (shortcut), they are releated to the user account and each needs to have their own.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP Pro, SP 1)

    OK then, you are going to have to load that program under her account too. Like Dave said some programs{ almost all Financial Programs) just work under one user, when you log on to a different user that program must be loaded there also. I mean if you have two user accounts for instance set up because you don't want other users getting into your financial records what good would it do if a program like Money 2001 or Quickens Loaded itself on all the accounts. How safe would that be, and what reason would there be for different user accounts. I have Quickens and you can only use it on the user account that it was loaded to, thank god. For instance, why would you want someone using a Guest Account to be able to have access to your Financial Records. So I guess that your problem is a good thing in the long run. It's just a security precaution built in to these types of programs. Try loading it on her account and see what happens. Let us know if that does it for you.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP P

    The blank password error happens if you try "Run as" with an account that doesn't have a log in password. Another lovely "by design" feature that's less than obvious.

    Take care if you try to install Money for your wife also. It may be a solution, as it is for Office. But if Money is designed for single user, single machine, then you could have problems.

    My PC is shared with the family, and to keep things under control, I do all installs under my admin account. No one, me included, installs software under their user account. Sometimes that involves a bit of extra fiddling with XP-unaware apps. But it makes life simpler with uninstalls and upgrades down the track.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application will run in one account only (XP P

    I'm with Tim. Thats what I did with Quickens. If my wife needs to get on Quickens she has to log in under my Account. Of course she never does that because I handle all the Bills. But I do know that you can load into different user accounts with Quickens because I did it once just messen around. But thats Quickens, I don't know about Money. Joe might be right about having to do some fiddling around with it. But that would be your call, as it would be also your call letting your wife log in on your account. I have my wife set up on a different Computer and Networked with mine. Actually I have three computers networked. One for my wife, one that I use, And one that I use for testing Hardware, Software and Downloading Software from KazaA Lite. Good luck and if you have any more question don't hesitate to ask.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •