Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Immediate Mode (2002)

    A previous thread mentioned the limitations of immediate mode in VS.Net.

    I'm reporting that, in break mode, I just executed one of my own methods
    in the immediate window. Worked just like the VBA IDE!

    ...and I could continue execution without having to restart! A Bonus!
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Immediate Mode (2002)

    The immediate window works OK. The limitiatiojn for me is not being able to actually change the code while in break mode, without having to restart the code, as I could in VB6 or VBA.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Immediate Mode (2002)

    Ok. That was it. But I've sometimes clicked Continue and finished a debug session ok.

    Yet, I know what you mean: the code change you just made will not be executed if you click Continue;
    plus you run the risk of a crash or weird behavior if you try to continue over changed code.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Immediate Mode (2002)

    Yes I too miss not being able to edit the code on-the-fly (with restrictions, it didn't always work). Now debugging takes a bit more time. This is a side-effect of the .Net environment and compiler. Since it's a JIT compiler (just-in-time) it's supposedly not possible to support this feature. I wonder if this is the case for all JIT programming environments.

    Deb

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Immediate Mode (2002)

    A bit more time??

    It takes forever in an Office interop environment: <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15>
    1) Exit App (Word in my case)
    2) make then save code changes changes
    3) make sure break points are in place
    4) recompile and start. Addin starts as Word starts
    5) Test.
    6) Exit Word repeat, repeat, repeat.

    I think MS could easily make an interpreted version of the IDE, then JIT the
    code when you compile. Innovation, that's what MS is all about, right?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Immediate Mode (2002)

    YES YES YES, forgive me for under-estimating the hassle factor. <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31> You are so correct. The only thing they added that I like is the ability to retain breakpoints between sessions. I'd still be wiling lose that feature for a return to the ability to edit on the fly. I wonder how many hate mails MS has gotten on this subject? I too think a 'regular' compiler for development is the way to go. It's not like you're debugging for all destination environments at the same time. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

    Deb <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Immediate Mode (2002)

    Version 2003 final is out. I'm gonna wait for the discs. Have you downloaded and installed?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Immediate Mode (2002)

    I'm working with VS Enterprise Architect 2003 Final Beta 2 (at least I think it's "2") so I don't know how close that is the the 'real' final release. I got it from my MSDN subscription and had first installed it many months ago. Maybe I should go fetch the 'real' final version.

    Deb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •