Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    List Box (Access 2000)

    Hi
    Really hope someone can help me with this. I have a report that uses a query to obtain data required for the report. When you click on the report a query text box comes up asking for a persons name to be entered. Rather than having to type the persons name is there anyway to change this text box to a list box or drop down list box with all the peoples name that are entered in the database. I tryed to send the database but it was to big so if required I could email it to who ever could help
    Any help would really be appreciated

    Thanks
    Jonathon

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: List Box (Access 2000)

    Send it to my email address in my profile and I'll take a look see.
    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: List Box (Access 2000)

    Try zipping the database and send the zipped version here as long as the zipped version is under 100kb else send it to my email address in my profile.
    Pat

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: List Box (Access 2000)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by patt on 09-Mar-03 10:39. A97 not A2K)</P>Both your queries reference [Forms]![Tenants]![Tenants Name] which assumes that a form Tenants (which is not even in your DB) is open, if it's not it assumes this is a parameter that needs to be entered.

    BTW the DB you sent was an A97 DB not a A2K DB.
    What do you wish to do?
    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: List Box (Access 2000)

    What I would like to know is, if it is possible in Access to instead of having to typing a parameter so the query can bring a result is it possible to have a list parameter box that looks up a table of tenants name so you can then choose or select the tenants name and rather than having to type a name in the parameter box?
    I hope you understand what I mean.

    Thanks
    Jonahton

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: List Box (Access 2000)

    You can't do that in a query, but you can design a form with a list box or combo box displaying the list of tenants. You can refer to the value selected by the user in the query.

    Say, you have a form frmSelectTenant with a list box lstTenants. In the query, replace the parameter by [Forms]![frmSelectTenant]![lstTenant].

    (Cf. patt's reply)

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: List Box (Access 2000)

    You're in capable Hands with Hans. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    You can even select more than one tenant from a multiselect list box, then you would build the query on the fly and use that as the source for the report.
    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •