Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    <font color=red>Well guys there is a new problem out there in IE6</font color=red> .I use the "Search icon" on the Web tool bar to open the window to the left of the main window to do searches,always have, however,now when I open it,(and lots of other people I am finding out)the window says"Sorry, the system is not working properly".Who's system?Mine or Microsofts.(not an error message),just"Sorry, the system is not working properly."(See Attachment).
    Any one got any answers?I'll bet it has to do with the latest MS IE patch from Windows Update!!
    Any answers,(Knowledgable ones) would be appreciated.Yes I rebuilt,repaired IE6,Restored back 5 days, no help.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Jim, it looks like your whole display is melting down!! (Trying pasting into Microsoft Photo Editor and saving as a PNG file.)

    There have been some threads here on how this pane works, and it seems to depend on a part of Microsoft's site to work. You might have to use a "real" search site until they get it up and running, assuming it's a problem on their end.

    Incidentally, my search pane seems to work fine with MSN search in IE 5.5 SP2. I never use it, so I can't be sure, but it seems fully functional.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Exactly. The "system" is likely Microsoft's -- assuming you have the standard Microsoft search engine as your default. Many of us have changed to have Google appear in the Search 'veritcal explorer pane'.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> I had an encounter of the third kind with MSIE 6 + SP 1 myself. Tried reverting back to an earlier version, also tried the option to "repair" (have you tried that one yet?). I eventually resolved the problem. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> Certainly try using Google as your search engine, I have never liked the one that comes with IE. Good Luck.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Hi Cyber dance, yes tried repair etc. etc. Noticing lots of people with the
    same problem. I can still use the search window in MSN Home page, but I'm
    thinking this is not a problem we have in IE6 sp1, it's a modification or
    upgrade or servicing Microsoft is doing to their search engines. Too many
    people with the same problem and at this point no answers. The message you
    get when selecting the search button on IE6's browser tool bar is, "Sorry,
    the system is not working properly". Whose system? I think over a period of
    time, Microsoft or MSN will work it out.
    No one in "Microsoft's Community Newsgroups" (MVP's) are attempting to
    answer the question, "What's the fix or what's wrong, so I don't think
    anyone knows yet except Microsoft or MSN.Take care, Jim Lombard

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Appreciate your comments.How do you change the "Vertical Search window to Google? I think I may know, but could you give me a step by step? Really appreciate it,Tnx,

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Hi Jim:
    I took a quick look & I think <!post=this post,220291>this post<!/post> by R2, or at least the thread, gives the answer. If not, just search in the IE forum for

    google default search engine

    Cheers,

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    You can make Google the Default Vertical Explorer Bar Search Engine by following the instructions on this page:
    http://www.google.com/options/defaults.html

    The the 'default' Vertical Explorer Bar Search engine is MSN's. I believe IE simply uses the Vertical Explorer Bar as a separate 'Window' to display an HTML file that is downloaded from MSN. I don't recall the IP address, but it is something related to "ie.search.msn.com". It has been so long since I used the default Search engine, I don't even remember what it looks like.

    Personally, I would simply change to the Google Search Engine and forget about MSN's.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Hi Jim, just do it manually, go to TOOLS>INTERNET OPTIONS>GENERAL, in the address bar type www.google.com then select USE CURRENT, click on APPLY & OK. All done. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    That only changes the Home page -- not the Search Engine...

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    I understand,but I don't want to change my home page,in fact I don't want to change my search engine.
    Here's the up to date word from Microsoft about the temporary situation:
    MSN Search page has its latest release of the portal page and is currently experiencing some downtime problems. It is possible that this has been causing the problem at hand. However, we have now forwarded your concern to our Search Product Specialist Team so it may be given due attention. They will get back to you as soon as they have received your letter. We understand the importance of this issue and are doing everything within our means to remedy the situation.,Regards,

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    CyberDancer thank you for those simple instructions on altering my start up page, easy to follow for a dummy like me. I have written them down for the next time my startup page magically becomes something else. Great! Jude

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    On that page there is also a .reg file to restore the Search engine back to the IE defaults.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Ah. Very interesting. That modification sends you to:

    http://ie.search.msn.com/srchasst/srchasst.htm

    -- I knew it was "something related to "ie.search.msn.com"". <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    THAT is the actual page you should see in your Vertical Explorer Bar when you click the Search button. If you don't see that page, then perhaps your registry listing for that page is erroneous, or the page itself is down. I tried it several times this AM and it worked fine.
    _______________________

    Well, this afternoon I cannot get the default Search Engine to work at all -- instead I get a message that the service is "defunct":

    <A target="_blank" HREF="http://www.lycos.com/cgi-bin/pursuit?mtemp=msie2&results=ie4.2&etemp=error_msie &adv=1">The pursuit service is defunct.
    If you have JavaScript enabled,
    you'll be automatically taken to
    http://search.lycos.com/</A>

    If I turn on scripting, then I am taken to this page:
    http://sidesearch.lycos.com/
    _________________________

    I am consistently getting results that the default search page is "defunct" -- as above. So maybe this was in the process of becoming defunct when you guys began to notice the difficulties.

    Presently I cannot use the default search engine unless I stick the lycos site in my Trusted zone -- because it needs to have Scripting enabled to work. While I was investigating this I found some interesting discoveries:

    1) The URL "ie.search.msn.com" has been given a special privilege to run at least one ActiveX control in the Search Bar -- regardless of what your ActiveX restrictions are. This control is the 'SearchAssistantOC' ActiveX control and it resides in shdocvw.dll.

    2) The URL must be listed in the "SafeSites" registry key in order for it to have this special privilege.

    3) Simply listing a URL in the SafeSites registy key is not enough to confer it this special privilege (it is necessary but not sufficient).

    4) Search Engines other than the default MSN one do not need to utilize the initial 'ie.search.msn.com' site nor the 'SearchAssistantOC' ActiveX control to function properly. Only the default Search Engine uses these.

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Engine,IE6 (I.E 6 SP!)

    Jim--
    You could try to repair Search with Restore Place Search on the Start Menu on Line 166 on the left half of fixes or Line 70 Search is Missing from the Start Menu.

    I understand Search is on your start menu but not working. Hoping these regedits might repair it. Also there is this google thread with ways to repair Search.

    As to getting quick Google searches and not changing your original, just use the small Google Toolbar addition here to get Google or there are a number of multiple search engine additions to your taskbar available by doing a google search. I use one on my desktop that will search a number of engines incl. Google by putting an address bar in the taskbar. Dave's Quick Search Taskbar Toolbar December 2002 works for me. I hope you can repair Search with one of these. The Yahoo toolbar that is the last checkmark they default if you open a Yahoo account can cause this problem, among several others, and uninstalling it would fix it (if that were the case).

    SMBP

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •