Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win 2000 Firewall Question

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Can anyone tell me if the O/S Windows 2000 is like XP in that it has an inbuilt firewall?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 2000 Firewall Question

    Not as far as I am aware.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 2000 Firewall Question

    No it does not. You can get a free Firewall here AVG Several people on this Lounge use AVG.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 2000 Firewall Question

    UMM Cowboy,

    AVG is Anti-virus software and not a firewall.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 2000 Firewall Question

    Dang it man. I don't Know what the heck I was thinking. I must be getting old. <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> try this Kerio Personal Firewall

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Win 2000 Firewall Question

    ZoneAlarm will work with 2K

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 2000 Firewall Question

    I don't know if you can trust that guy with the crossed eyes. <img src=/S/eyeout.gif border=0 alt=eyeout width=15 height=15> Then again I wouldn't trust that Cowboy with the bad attitude eather. <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23>

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 2000 Firewall Question

    Hello and thank you everyone, I seem to have missed 2000 completely, the notebooks I use are XP and the desktops are either 98 or ME. A colleague of mine upgraded his 98 desktop to 2000 Professional O/S, and cannot get an external firewall to work on his cable connection 24/7. So I wondered if a firewall might already be installed within 2000 like XP, that could be upsetting his attempts to install and use ZA or Outpost. Once again you folks have cleared up yet another question, I appreciate the help very much. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •