Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wizard Formatting Lost

    I have downloaded the Avery Wizard for Word for all of the workstations here in the office with no problems, except the one Windows 2000 machine. All of the other machines are 98s or XPs. They all are running Office 2000, including the Windows 2000 machine. I can run the wizard and create the labels but when it opens in Word the formatting (lines separating the individual labels) is gone. My macro security setting is set to low. If I try to create a new label using the Avery Wizard icon on the toolbar I get this message: "The macro cannot be found or has been disabled because of your macro security settings." Is there some other place to check macro security other than Tools>Macro>Security? I'm assuming this is a Windows 2000 issue because I didn't have any problems with my other machines, but I don't know. From our network we are running both anti-virus software and have a firewall. I'm new to managing our equipment so any help is appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Was the software installed by a user with administrative privileges? That's very important for NT, 2K, XP systems.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Yes, the software was installed by a user with admin privileges. Anything else I could check?

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Does the user executing the macro have the correct privileges? Does the macro show up in Tools | Macro | Macros? Can you add Avery to your trusted sources under Tools | Macro | Security?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    The user has correct privileges. The Avery macro shows in the Tools>Macro>Macros window. Avery does not show as a trusted choice and I am not given the option to add, though the "Trust all installed add-ins & templates" box is checked.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    What Office & Win2k service packs have been applied?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Windows SP2.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    What about Office?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    To my knowledge, no updates on Office. I know how to check Windows for updates but where do you check Office?

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    At the Office web site. http://office.microsoft.com/ProductUpdates/default.aspx Be very careful about the Office service packs. They are not necessarily like a Windows service pack as far as being cumulative. Plus one of the Office2k serivce packs (maybe Sp-2) introduced what MS calls an e-mail security feature that drastically limits the types of attachments that you can process with Outlook. If you have Exchange server you can modify the limits. You can search Woody's past Office newsletters for his opinion.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Thanks, Joe. I knew about the ms site and have used it with my workstation. I check my co-workers tomorrow. I may need to pass this along to our outside tech person. He is the person that manages our exchange server.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Pam, You're welcome. I'm not at all sure there's a fix in any of the SPs that will solve your problem. You can look at the MS support site and find a list of fixes for each service pack. That may give you a clue before you dive in.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Pam, You may want to post this question as a Word problem in the Word forum. You may get better help there.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wizard Formatting Lost

    Thanks, Joe. I'll do that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •