Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Tray Clock

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tray Clock

    What might account for my tray clock picking up 8 to 10 minutes a day? Prior to about 2 weeks ago, it was keeping reasonably accurate time.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Tray Clock

    1.) What make of PC?
    2.) What service pack level?
    3.) What has changed recently on the system?
    4.) Have you had an electrical problems recently?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tray Clock

    1. Gateway E-3200; 350 megahertz Intel Pentium IIn (yes, ancient)
    2. Windows 2000 Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2195)
    3. No recent changes. Added more memory about a year ago.
    4. No power glitches or failures. Also, connected to surge protector.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Tray Clock

    Could be a power supply or battery problem. Have you cleaned the inside of the PC recently?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tray Clock

    The battery may be the cause--it's the original one. The last cleaning was when I added memory. I'll check it out. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Tray Clock

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> DenGar

    If you are running Norton SystemWorks 2001 or 2002, you need to update it via some patches on the web site. This problem usually manifest itself with the loss or gain of a couple of seconds, then a couple of minutes as time goes by.

    Check the web to see what patch you need.

    Also for my needs, I have a utility that shows me the time in hh:mm:ss AM/PM format. So I can see the seconds run by while I am working. It will help, at least for testing, if you would download and install such utilities. The one I like is called TaskClock Extenstions.

    Also try Dimention 4 for retrival and adjustment of time via the Internet.

    Hope this helps.
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tray Clock

    Wassim,

    I don't have SystemWorks. I've ordered a battery. Thanks for the info. re. the clock utilities. I'll check into them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •