Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Select Current Cell Contents (Word)

    I'm searching, but maybe you can help me fast...

    How do I select the contents of the current WORD table cell?
    I'll then will assign the contents to a string var:

    strString = selection.text
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Select Current Cell Contents (Word)

    Here you go:

    Tables(1).Cell(Row, Column).Range.Text

    Bear in mind that this also get the cell marker as well, so you will need to strip that off the end of the string.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Select Current Cell Contents (Word)

    Byran,

    Thanks, but since I don't know which table it is, I need something equivalent to
    "current table, current cell"

    What do you think of this:
    if selection.information(wdWithinTable) then
    selection.Cells(1).Range.Text

    Seems to work, but am I missing something?

    And thanks for the note on the cell marker.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Select Current Cell Contents (Word)

    Can't see why it won't work, since it does. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    The only issue you may run into is if it is a merged cell.

    I had a situation once where I was working with merged cells and on my box, I had to use ....cell(3,1)..... and on EVERY OTHER pc I had to use ....Cell(3,3).... It was quite bizarre really. There were NO SP differences or anything like that. It was just quite bizarre.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Select Current Cell Contents (Word)

    i just tried it with cells merged from the right and from the left. Seems to work
    with no problems. Thanks again!
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Select Current Cell Contents (Word)

    You could also use the predefined bookmark Cell as in...

    if selection.information(wdWithinTable) then
    ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("Cell").Range.Text

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Select Current Cell Contents (Word)

    Oh yeah. I forgot about the predefined bookmarks....

    Thanks, Stu.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •