Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access Big Hard Disk?

    Hi,

    I have an oldish PC, a PIII & need to add a 60Gb EIDE drive.
    The BIOS detects the original hard disk without any problem, but the auto-detect doesn't detect this new drive at all.

    The BIOS is the QDI Award Software Inc's PCI/ISA BIOS (2A5LEQ1A) - and the PC has the VIA VT83C572 chipset.
    My Q. is how do I solve this problem?

    Help!!
    Regards,

    m.q.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Big Hard Disk?

    If you have an open pci slot, you could run your new hd off a pci ide controller card (probably $30-40us). This is probably your best bet unless you can get your bios to recognize the drive by setting it manually (get the info off the new hd).

    good luck,

    kip

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access Big Hard Disk?

    I've had great results with IDE cards made by Promise.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Big Hard Disk?

    Make sure you set the jumpers on the drive first.... I just put a 120gb in one of my pcs (dual 450). THe bios only saw 8 gb, but linux saw the entire drive.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  5. #5
    billeger
    Guest

    Re: Access Big Hard Disk?

    Mike,

    Does partitioning into smaller chunks make the older BIOS happy?

    I'm bowing, I'm bowing! <img src=/S/woops.gif border=0 alt=woops width=58 height=36>

    <font face="Snap ITC">Hawai'i Bill</font face=snap>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Big Hard Disk?

    No, the bios doesn't know partitioning... It only knows hardware... Does the bios see the drive??? even if it doesn't see the entire drive, fdisk should see the drive...
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Big Hard Disk?

    Look for a BIOS section for Hard Drives and run an Auto detect.
    This is NOT in the first set up screen but normally in a different location. It may be listed as IDE yadda yadda.
    Make sure that you have both hard drives set to cable select or one set to MAster and the other to SLave.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •