Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    97 Version (A2000)

    Would somebody mind checking out the attachment in A97 and see if all works ok.
    I have A2000 installed and cannot test it.
    I've converted to 97 format, some of our users are still on 97 and it is for their benefit.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 97 Version (A2000)

    First, it opens and says that it has been converted, and tells user to recompile, then gives a couple of errors. I've included a copy of the errors...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 97 Version (A2000)

    Based on the errors - it might be ok on your network -- i don't have the file it's trying to open, so it failed....

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 97 Version (A2000)

    The forms module points to L:MMPDF to find a default PDF called BIS.pdf.

    You can alter this path to any of your own folders which contain PDF docs.

    I think if you check the references and choose ADO 3.5, then reference the Acrobat Control for ActiveX, it should work fine.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: 97 Version (A2000)

    Dave,

    There is a reference (in Tools/References...) to the Acrobat Type Library which is not available on my PC, so it was displayed as MISSING. After unchecking it, the code compiled OK, so apparently, it isn't needed for this database (is it related to Acrobat Distiller or something like that? I only have Acrobat Reader)

    I also got the "There is no object in this control" error. This was because I have a different version of Acrobat Reader on my PC (4.05 instead of 4.0). I had to remove the Acrobat ActiveX control and create it anew.

    And, of course, I had to change the paths.

    After that, it worked OK - I could open and view PDF files.

    The moral of this story: you could get into trouble if your users have a different version of Acrobat Reader installed.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 97 Version (A2000)

    Dave,
    There is no ADO 3.5. There is DAO 3.5 and ADO 2.1, 2.5, 2.6 and 2.7. Not every machine is going to have the Acrobat reader control (I assume that's what you meant by the Acrobat control) on their machine or have the same version anyhow. If you use something like that and post a database, you need to let everyone know what references need to be set.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •