Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't restore (XP Home 2002 SP1)

    It's my first time using checkpoints and restore points. I created one, tried some things, and want to revert. I tried restoring to the point I created; got the msg that it couldn't be restored. I tried restoring to a checkpoint a few days ago; got the same thing.

    What am I doing wrong?

    I'm the only user on this machine but I did (after setting the restore point manually today) add another account.

    The glory of all this is that in the interim, I've lost the ability to access email.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Can't restore (XP Home 2002 SP1)

    "tried some things" what were these things you tried?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't restore (XP Home 2002 SP1)

    Also sometimes you may have to shutdown your Firewall And AV before restoring. Don't ask me why I just know I have had to do it before I could do a system restore. I shut down all Items in the Systems tray now before I do a system restore.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't restore (XP Home 2002 SP1)

    Thanks to everyone who responded. I bet the firewall and antivirus are the problem - at least it makes sense that Norton would do its best to block something like a system restore. (I'd think Windows or Norton or both would have learned to warn us by now!)

    Hmm... how can I safely shut off my firewall, given that I'm on a wireless network and the wireless card is built-in so I can't remove it? I suppose I could switch off the access point or my cable modem - is there anything else I can do without disabling everyone else on the network?

    Dave

    p.s. Leif, none of those KB articles were pertinent, but thanks. DaveA, the "tried a few things" included switching Outlook to Corporate/Workgroup and adding a new user.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •