Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Field Code Insert (2002)

    Is it possible -- using a field code -- to insert a document from a template?

    This:
    INCLUDETEXT "ServerNameSharedTTemplatestest.dot"
    will produce an error.
    I want word to be smart enough to know that what I want to "include" is not the template
    but a document based on the template. Sort of a combination of "add from template" and
    includetext.

    Is there some other way to do this?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    Hi Kevin,
    <hr>INCLUDETEXT "ServerNameSharedTTemplatestest.dot"
    will produce an error<hr>
    It would too if it was entered as a field. You need double backslashes for path separators:
    INCLUDETEXT "ServerNameSharedTTemplatestest.dot"

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    I get "Not a valid filename" with or without double backs
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    I took out the servername and replaced it with the drive letter and this appears to do
    exactly what I want. It does not insert the template, but a document!

    Nice going. Thanks.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    Hi Kevin,

    Have you bookmarked the source text, and added the bookmark name to the INCLUDETEXT field? It won't work without it.

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    I don't need a bookmarked section of the document. I need the whole thing.
    It seems to work here in Word 2002. Still testing...
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    What happens to the INCLUDETEXT field once the text is inserted? Looks like it bites the dust.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    Hi Kevin,

    It should display the same as any other cross-referenced text. Are you trying to do this with a macro? If so, try creating an empty field then filling it with your includetext string, rather than trying to insert an includetext field directly.

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Field Code Insert (2002)

    I see the field does behave like other, just as you say. It's still there.

    Not trying to use code on this one. The field is actually buried in an
    autotext entry inside a template. I'm not sure this'll work as the formatting
    is all messed up. But I'm not done yet....Thanks.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •