Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    In 'C:WINDOWSInternet Logs' there are three files:<UL><LI>BRUCE-UEGJVK9XQ.ldb <small>(64KB)</small><LI>IAMDB.RDB <small>(1.53MB)</small><LI>tvDebug.log <small>(1.57MB)</small>[/list]Anyone familiar with what these may be and the purpose of this directory?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    Bruce, Those are the ZA logs.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    Hi, Joe ~

    Thanks for the info. I have the feature turned off in ZA, but it is still keeping logs.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    Those aren't really the ZA logs, those are just set-up files or other databases. The real logs are entitled "ZALogs.txt".

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    The three I listed all have current date and time access/modification. There were also about 200 '.tmp' files (I deleted them) that upon inspection appear to be some type of log for the last several months. I opened them in Notepad and they indicate programs accessing the internet.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    Ah, the .tmp files. Yes, I forgot about those -- because I never see them!

    Using Win98SE, I have created a "cleaning" batch file that runs upon rebooting, and included in that are these lines:

    :: Next line erases the .tmp files under WindowsInternet Logs
    deltree /y C:WindowsIntern~1*.tmp

    I was told that the .tmp files are made by ZA when Windows is shut down improperly -- something that happens frequently with Win98. However, if you are seeing them in WinXP, then I am not sure that is correct information. You certainly do not need to keep them.

    But they are not the 'standard' ZA log file -- which is a .txt file. I believe the other three files also do not represent "logs", but instead are more 'administrative'. If you delete those, you will lose some or all of your customized settings in ZA.

    As for the Accessed date, that is not useful -- it always shows NOW. Modified is more helpful. I am not sure why ZA would need to modify those recently -- unless you recently granted or denied program access, or made other changes to ZA.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    Hi, R2 ~

    I tried to open the 'tvDebug.log', but it crashes Notepad & Word everytime and unreadeable in Wordpad. Thanks for the info. I will leave those alone.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    You can delete TVDebug.log via safe mode. It is a log that ZA tech support would only use for debugging True Vector probs.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Logs? (XPP SP1)

    Hi, Shekerra ~

    Thanks. I found that shutting down ZA would let me delete it. It automatically rebuilds another one upon start up, but at only a tiny fraction of the size and allowed access to view.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •