Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP Pro Upgrade from WinPro 2000 (XP Pro)

    I decided to upgrade a P3 test machine from WinPro 2000 to XP Pro; following MSofts recoed proceedure, I took the upgrade approach rather than new install and am now in the shytenhousen! the XP Pro gets to the install stage then falls over with a fata error ....Untransalatable message Win 32last error is 14001.
    How do I back out into a stable WinPro 2000 environment or complete the upgrade as the machine just goes through the loop looking for XP Pro?
    Any help is most appreciated from this Aussie Battler

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro Upgrade from WinPro 2000 (XP Pro)

    restore from your backup. Did you make sure that all your hardware was Xp compatible? Did you make sure you had XP drivers? If you decide to go ahead I'd recommend a clean full install not an upgrade. Be sure to have a full backup. I don't care what MS says - in my experience a clean install always works better than an upgrade.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Pro Upgrade from WinPro 2000 (XP Pro)

    Hi Joe,
    thanks for the help from downunder; the P3 box was set up as a test bed and email box for my wife after upgrading my own system to a reasonable P4. I did not Ghost it as no meaningful work stored on it and I can only hope that the hardware is compatible. ow do I get back to the point where I may reload MS2000PRO as the machine looks for XP when it goes to boot? I am a non tech and really do appreciate your advice. cheers
    Darryl <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Pro Upgrade from WinPro 2000 (XP Pro)

    When you start the machine it should come up to a screen that now shows two choices. Windows XP on top and right below that will be Windows. Like below.


    Windows XP
    Windows
    Use your down arrow and highlight the second one { Windows } and push enter. If you don't it will boot up from the 1st choice {Windows XP} within I think 10 Seconds.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro Upgrade from WinPro 2000 (XP Pro)

    Darryl, In either case of wanting to finish the XP install or go back to 2K, I'd do a complete re-install. Since you don't really need anything that is currently on the PC you should format the disk drive as part of the install. You need to set your BIOS to boot from CD - there will be a message when you boot the system to press some key (like F2 or DEL ) to enter setup. Once in setup there will be an option to set control the booting of the PC. Just make sure that CD is first. Insert the product CD in your drive. Then exit from setup. That will reboot the PC and should start the install from CD. As part of the install you'll be given the opportunity to format your HD. You should do that to ensure you are starting from scratch.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Pro Upgrade from WinPro 2000 (XP Pro)

    Hi Joe, again I appreciate your interest; I rebuilt the system and tried the restall again but that also crashed out--so I rebuilt again late last night using Win PRO2000 and tha worked just fine. XPPro Office wnet in on Windows Pro 2000 just fine..just one of the quirks/nuanes with MS stuff I can only guess. again thanks for the teams help.........Darryl

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro Upgrade from WinPro 2000 (XP Pro)

    Darryl, glad you've got a system back in working order. If you ever decide to try XP again on that PC maybe you should search the MS XP general newsgroup first.. I'm sure I've seen similar posts with better responses than mine there.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •