Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Pleasanton, California, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    I am going nuts. I have a few tables that I copied, pasted back into the table list and renamed. I kept the old tables until I can redo some of the links. Now, I can see the renamed tables in the table link manager, but they don't show up in the table list of the back-end database. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    Where did you copy, paste and rename the tables? If you did this in the frontend database, you have only been copying the links to the tables in the frontend, not the physical tables in the backend. If you want top copy tables in the backend, you'll have to open the backend directly.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Pleasanton, California, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    No, this is all done on the backend. In the linked-table manager I can see both the original table and the renamed table (and both have the same path), and when I refresh the link it says it's ok. Then I go look on the actual back-end and the renamed table is not there. A big mystery!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    How did you manage to rename the table in the backend if you can't see it?

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    If this was all done in backend, how come you have both tables in the frontend?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Pleasanton, California, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    Hmmm, a little confusion here.
    The original table is on the back end, as are all the tables.

    There are NO local tables on the front end. You see the LINKED tables on the front end.

    I renamed the tables on the back end and then linked to them from the front end.

    Both the original and renamed tables show (as linked tables) on the frontend, and the paths in the Linked table manager show the same DB path.

    But , while the original table still shows when the back end is opened, the renamed table does not.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    If you select Tools/Options... (in the backend database), View tab, and check both Hidden Objects and System Objects, can you see the renamed tables?

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Pleasanton, California, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    I tried that - no luck. I'm beginning to think I have a phantom file on a server somewhere. I searched all my LAN drive for files of the same name and came up empty on that too.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    Very strange...

    Two more things to try:

    Activate the Visual Basic Editor (Alt+F11)
    Activate the Immediate window (Ctrl+G)
    Type <font face="Georgia">DoCmd.SelectObject acTable, "YourTable", True</font face=georgia> then press Enter, with one of the phantom table names substituted for YourTable. If you get no error message, switch back to Access. The instruction should select the table in the database window.

    Activate the Immediate Window in the Visual Basic Editor again.
    Type <font face="Georgia">DoCmd.OpenTable "YourTable"</font face=georgia> then press Enter, with one of the phantom table names substituted for YourTable. If you get no error message, switch back to Access. The instruction should open the table.

    If you do get error messages, what are they?

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    In the frontend, do you see linked tables for both the old and new tablesnames? If so, how did you do that?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    Tell me, is this your scenario.
    You have tables A, B and C on the backend and they are linked on the frontend. What you see on the frontend is A, B and C as linked tables.
    Then you change the table names on the backend, A to AA, B to BB and C to CC.
    What you now see on the frontend at this stage is still A, B and C.
    Then you link the tables AA, BB and CC to the frontend.
    What you then get is A, B and C as well as AA, BB and CC on the frontend.

    This is all ok, as A links to AA, B links to BB and C links to CC. I think you will find this is how it works. Of course I may be completely wrong as I have not tried this.

    Or am I completely wrong in this assumption.

    Pat

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Pleasanton, California, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    "problem" solved. I was explaining what someone told me they did. Turns out to be a bit different. They copied. pasted and renamed the linked tables on the front end only, so the renamed linked tables point at the original table. No new table was made on the back end. Frankly, I didn't know you could do that! Anyway, I finally figured that out when I realized the "renamed" table on the front end was fully up-to-date with the original table, and then questioned how that could be so. The person who did it finally explained to me exactly what he did when I sat him down and went through it on the screen. Maybe I assumed too much when he first told me what he did and didn't get enough details.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: tables disappeared! (Acc2000)

    <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> That was my first thought - see my first reply in this thread...

    That'll teach you to accept uncritically what a user tells you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •