Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    I don't understand this error message: There are too many rows to output, based on the limitation specified by the output format or by (company name).

    I'm trying to copy fields from a query and paste them in excel. There are approximately 23,000 records, which I've done many times before.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    Which Excel format did you select? Some earlier versions of Excel were limited to something like 16K rows.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    Excel 2000.

    Do you know where I would go to limit the output format so I can check it?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    So you're using a TransferSpreadsheet with a SpreadsheetType of acSpreadsheetTypeExcel9? That should work, as long as you are within the size limitation, which in 2000 is 65,536 rows by 256 columns.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    I normally run the query, highlight the rows that I want - copy and then paste into Excel.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    Then you aren't exporting the data, your copying and pasting, right? I wonder if it is an issue of memory or available space for paging on your hard drive.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    I asked the help desk about that and they said that I have 6.17GB with no limit restrictions. I'm only trying to paste between 17,000 and 23,000 records so this is so frustrating.

    I was having a lot of trouble with my Access database about a month ago. I believe you helped me with it. I run a shared database with 10 users and we were locking up. It turned out that I was opening it every morning to update it but I was opening it from a desk top icon. It was recommended that I open it directly through Access to do the update. Someone also recommended that I get the SR1 update to fix the problem.

    I don't know if they loaded the the SR1 update wrong or if there was another piece to the puzzle but it was horrible! We ended up with more locking than ever. So, they gave me a different PC and loaded everything on from scratch. (Access 2000 Professional.) They left all of the updated off though. I guess there's SR1, 2, 3 and 3update.

    I don't know what has changed but I've been coping and pasting these same reports for about a year now. They gave me Windows 2000 vs Windows 98. Would that make a difference?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    The 6+ GB is your disk space. The problems you experience probably have to do with the amount of memory used. When you copy and paste, the records have to be kept in memory; 17,000 to 23,000 records will take up a lot of memory!
    The change of OS may very well have to do with it - Windows 2000 itself uses a lot more memory than Windows 98, so there is less left for applications to use. Perhaps extra memory in oyur PC would help.
    However, I would recommend creating a linked table in Access that links to your Excel data, and creating a Make Table or Append query based on the linked table to fill the Access table. You can set selection criteria in this query.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    I doubt seriously that you have 6Gb of RAM, but I don't know where to suggest you look. It is NOT a good idea to work with Access 2000 without at least SR1 because there were problems with it that were only cured with the service packs.
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    I double checked myself and it says Disk Free Space 6.17GB. It's a company network drive.

    I appreciate the advise and I'll ask them to install the updates today.
    Thank you for your help,
    Theresa

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Too Many Rows to Output (Access 2000)

    Thank you Hans. I'll take your recommendations down to the help desk.
    I appreciate the assistance,
    Theresa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •