Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Commands and Macros not available (ACCESS WIN97PRO )

    Do you mean "paste append"? And you're running Access97? What service release, what Jet service pack, and did your IT people update anything overnight? Given the messages you're getting, it sounds like a broken reference, which could mean something got installed or updated that broke your Access installation.
    Charlotte

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Commands and Macros not available (ACCESS WIN97PRO )

    What is PastAppend?
    It's not something silly like missing references is it?

    Strange ....

    Pat

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commands and Macros not available (ACCESS WIN97PRO )

    ok Paste Append believe it or not I did proof read that thing.

    I am my system administrator and you are my support group.

    SR2 no idea about the Jet Service pack although I remember having to down load that sometime in the past. Under XPPRO.

    I loaded an OE spell checker. Don't see why it would mess with an internal Access expression but I will try uninstalling it.

    Trouble is if it has created a "broken reference" will I have to reinstall Access? Can I do that without reinstalling all of Office Pro?

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Commands and Macros not available (ACCESS WIN97PRO )

    The command or action "PostAppend" (edit) PasteAppend isn't available now.

    You may be in a read-only database or an unconverted database from an earlier version of bookbox.

    The type of object the action applies to isn't currently selected or isn't in the active view.

    Use only those commands and macro actions that are currently available for this database.

    What the !@#$% does that mean? Everything worked fine when I went home last night. Boot up today and Access has gone on strike. I can add a new entry. I can copy the old entry and paste it into the new entry. But I can't run an event procedure which I have been using for 2 years because it uses PasteAppend. I have gone back through four backups and they all act the same way. So It is not a setting that has been changed in the current database. It appears to be something Access has decided on its own. I have run repair It is not read only in properties and it is allowing other edits. It should not be unconverted as it was never in any other form and the Convert choice is grayed out.

    How can an object not be in the active view? How can commands and macros not be available for this database? How can I get them back?

    Also a date field set to display date and time is acting strange. It will not take the date from the ^; shortcut key but will accept it if I type it in. However it will take the time from the ^: Doesn't give me any message just acts like I haven't type the key,


    The gremlins sure had fun in here last night.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Commands and Macros not available (ACCESS WIN97PRO )

    If it is an event procedure, you should be able to view it in the VBA editor, and then do Tools/References and the system will tell you about any missing references. The message you are getting suggests to me that it may be a data condition however - I think it is telling you that there isn't any data in the clipboard to append. Even if it is a broken reference, in most cases you should be able to either resolve the reference or remove it completely.
    Wendell

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commands and Macros not available (ACCESS WIN97PRO )

    I don't believe this. Booted this morning opened the DB and the problem has disappeared. Will be back if it comes back. Thanks

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Commands and Macros not available (ACCESS WIN97PRO )

    For the further edification of anyone having this problem in the future It came back as soon as I opened TinySpell. Too bad because TinySpell is great for checking spelling on the fly in places like this. Guess I will just have to remember to turn it on when I go on line.

    Thanks again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •