New Lounger
    Thanks

Stock price data (2000)

Hi all. This is my first posting. I am relatively new to Access 2000.
    I would like to create a database consisting of 100 stocks.
    One table holds security information like cusip, ticker symbol, company name, and industry.
    A second table shows which industries belong to which sectors.
    Then I am stuck on how to handle the individual security information.

The objective of the database is to calculate industry and sector correlations (eg: show the correlation between a composite of utility companies versus a composite of banks). To do this, the database would also need pricing information for the last 10 years, which I have in Excel spreadsheets with one spreadsheet per stock showing the open, high, low, close, shares outstanding and volume traded on the day.

I do not know whether I should create a separate table for each stock, or use one big table for all the stocks together. Of course, by using one table instead of 100 tables, I would have to duplicate the ticker/cusip information for each record, so the database would necessarily be larger. On the other hand, I am not sure how to query tables in the same way I would query records when I am looking at creating composites.

Moving forward, I would would need to adjust stock data for special events like stock splits, and sector data for the inclusion of new companies.

Does anyone have an opinion on which way might be easier to modify and update, and which way might run more quickly?

Is it possible to query tables in a similar way as one would query records (could I set up a table of table names and by querying this table (say, find all tables for bank stocks) create a new query that creates daily composite data.

And who knows, maybe such a database shell already exists, that I can modify or expand.

All thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Stock price data (2000)