Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Opening template does not fire macros (Word 2000/sr1)

    I have a template that contains VBA code tied to Open document events. If I open the template as a template, enable macros, then they fire. If I take the same template and select it and it opens as a word doc, enable macros, the events do not fire. This is a strange problem. One point about theses templates, iniatally they were doc files and I made them templates by changing the extension to dot, could that be the problem?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Opening template does not fire macros (Word 2000/sr1)

    When you create a new document based on the template the AutoNew macro is the one that I would try rather than AutoOpen.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Opening template does not fire macros (Word 2000/sr1)

    > One point about theses templates, iniatally they were doc files and I made them templates by changing the
    > extension to dot, could that be the problem?

    To test that theory, open the file and Save As a Template.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening template does not fire macros (Word 20

    Hi Jim:
    FYI, changing an extension from .doc to .dot does NOT make a document a template. You will note, among other things, that you cannot save an autotext entry into the "template" by either opening it or right clicking it in Explorer & choosing New. If you do the latter, you will also notice that choosing Tools/Customize, you do not have the "template" listed in the Save in box. Nor is it listed as a template when you press Alt+F8.

    The only thing that you've done by changing the extension is to change the documents behavior when you right click or double click it in Windows Explorer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •