Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: modem

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    modem

    I have a modem installed on my Win2000 machine. If this modem is switched off when the machine is started, it de-activates the modem. If I switch the modem on after starting the machine, I cannot use it. In such a case, I either need to re-install the driver (which even makes the old driver work as well) or simply restart the machine. Now that is obviously a bore.

    Is there a way I can make my machine simply use the modem whenever it is turned on, like would be the case say in a Win98 machine.

    Vikas

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: modem

    How is the modem connected? USB, serial, etc?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: modem

    It is connected on the serial port.

    Vikas

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: modem

    Is there a reason why you need to turn your Modem On & Off?

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: modem

    Well, I just like to shut everything off when I am not using them. You could argue, leave the modem on. But that only skirts the problem. Why does Win2000 have to check whether or not my modem is on when the machine starts and then decide that it wil never be turned on.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: modem

    "serial devices" need to be on when the machine is booted. This has been the standard since the DOS days. There has been some hot swapping with serial devices but most of the time they did not get connected or were damaged. Saw several early cameras damaged.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: modem

    On another machine that I have, I have Win98, and there is no problem. I can switch on and off the modem as I like and there is no problem at all.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: modem

    What is different with these two machines including hardware and software?

    Same make and model of modem?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: modem

    Both modems are same model and make: dlink 56kbps external with the driver supplied with the modem. The win98 machine is a PIII 866 mhz. The win2000 machine is a PIV 1.7 ghz.

    I don't think it has anything to do with the hardware. It is the operating system. The question is can we do something to change the settings of win2000?

    Vikas

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •