Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Desktop Fun

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Nr. Edinburgh, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Desktop Fun

    Edited by WyllyWylly to add URL code. See the Quick Guide.[/i] <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Hello,
    Has anyone tried 3DNA Desktop? I have read a lot of glowing reports in Newsletters and would like to try it out. It uses a lot of RAM, but they say that it always gives RAM up when it is needed by applications. Perhaps you would need to shut it down to burn CDs. I would like to hear what users think of it, so if anyone has tried it I would be very grateful for your comments. Thank you very much.

    http://www.3dna.net/company/index.htm

    Elaine.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    I haven't, but it's an interesting concept. I doubt that it would be a full-time use thing, simply because I would always be thinking about the resources it's going to consume....but as you noted in your subject line, it's for desktop fun yes? If your machine is beefy enough it could be an interesting way of interacting with the PC for a change. I'll post back after I noodle with it for a little while and share my impressions!
    -Mark

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Nr. Edinburgh, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Mark,
    Yes indeed! Desktop fun, and since I use my machine mainly for fun, I am interested in this program. I have XP Home and 512 Ram so I think I`ll be OK as apart from Word and working with music I am just playing and learning about computing. As I said before I may have to switch it off to burn CDs. I hope you have some fun and no mishaps with it. Waiting for your report. Thanks
    Elaine

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    I just Downloaded it. Man that is to cool. I mostly play around on this computer anyway and it has 768MB SDRAM running at 1050 MHZ Pent. 3. That desktop is way cool and fun to mess with. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Looks like what MS tried to do with "Bob" but failed. Wonder is MS sold Bob rights to this outfit?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Elaine,

    Pretty cool discovery. It's like making a video game out of your desktop. I had it fudge up once, but Windows does that too so who cares? Too bad the demo doesn't allow you to see more features. However, once you learn the controls, it's pretty intuitive, but it does make use of the keyboard. I kept feeling that it was targeted more towards gamers than the average person, but it didn't seem to put much of a dent in my resources - although I'd keep thinking about all the horsepower that it takes to use it. Better used that way than wasted on email and surfing, methinks.

    I won't go to it full time, because I don't want to re-learn how to use my computer...but I'll keep it around for fun.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Nr. Edinburgh, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Mark, Thanks for trying it out for me. It certainly looked as if it would be fun and I hope that it didn`t cause too many problems. After I read your report I downloaded it. but guess what....... it won`t run on my graphics card. It kept going into software mode and shutting down. I checked their website and found that this problem happens when your graphics card is not good enough. Isn`t it ironic that it won`t work for me! Cowboy seems to be having fun with it. Not surprising really as I only have the card supplied in my computer which must be pretty basic. Don`t think the finances will stretch to a new one at the moment...maybe in the future. Thanks again for being the guinea pig, and I hope you too have some fun with it
    Elaine

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Nr. Edinburgh, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Cowboy, Glad to have at last been some help to someone on this Forum! Don`t want to repeat myself so have a look at my reply to Mark today. I am so annoyed (for want of a better word!) I read all the posts on this Forum. so I know that you enjoy games and it looks like this program is right up your street. Have fun with it and I hope to be able to use it myself sometime.
    Elaine

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Thanks Elaine. It is pretty cool. I don't use it all the time, but it is fun to play with. Yeah you need to hurry and get ya another Video Card. I use an{ ATI 7200 64 MB DDR}. Its not the biggest out there but it does everything I need it to do including Gameing. You can catch them on sale for around $60.00 to $90.00. Of course you must have a Processor that will handle the need for speed. I have an Overclocked Pent 111 at 1050 MHZ and 768 MB SDRAM and it seems to handle just about anything I can throw at it. Some day soon I will build me a much faster system, not that I need it , but I love building fast machines. I build them all the time for other people and I sure hate when I have to part withem. <img src=/S/mad.gif border=0 alt=mad width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Nr. Edinburgh, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Ok Cowboy, I will keep a note of the name of that card. At the moment my system reports a Pentium111 998 MHz. I have 512 RAM and the stupid Video Card is called Intel® 82815 Graphics Controller whatever that means. I think I will probably be OK to upgrade.. Maybe I`ll get lucky and find one in a sale over here in Scotland. Upgrading seems to be a never ending drain on the old resources. First I upgraded the RAM,and a few months later I doubled my HD. Well, I thought, that will keep me going now. But no... there`s always something else coming along.This is a Laptop and everything is so much dearer for it.You got to pay for the convenience. I would have been quite happy if I hadn`t discovered that bloomin` Desktop!!! Never mind I`m determined to get it as soon as I can. Thanks for the information.
    Elaine

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    I don't know to much about Laptops as to what can be changed out. Like in your case with the Video Card. I thought you had a Desktop, so I don't know what it takes to add a Video Card. Your system is plenty fast enough to handle a bigger Video Card. One of these days I'm just going to have to study the Inside of a Laptop. Good Luck and hang in there. And yes upgrading is a never ending thing with Technology. <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Elaine, I hope you can get an upgrade. Laptops are not usually upgrade friendly. Your Intel graphics controller doesn't do 3D, which is why you're having difficulty. More precisely it doesn't handle advanced 3D and DirectX functions, which is what 3DNA uses to create its visuals. It's a business oriented graphics chip that is usually built right into the motherboard of a computer system. Check with the laptop manufacturer before shelling out any cash on an upgrade.

    I have to disagree with the Cowboy on ATI stuff...I'm a die-hard Nvidia fan. This comes from the daze <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> when ATI had poor driver support and other flaky problems. They're great if you want a video card that can do TV functions, very well polished in that regard - and their newer products are allegedly much better than in the past. But as the saying goes....once bitten, twice shy. I've never had a problem with a Nvidia card or the software that goes along with them, they've always just worked. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Nr. Edinburgh, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    To Mark and Cowboy, Thanks for all the information. I don`t know anything about these cards except that mine is rubbish. When the time comes that I think I can afford a better one I will get in touch with Sony.Have to say though ,that the last time I asked them for help,it was just a waste of time. Perhaps I`ll have better luck this time if they think they might get some money out of me! Their customer support is pretty atrocious. Anyway that`s all in the future. If I`m stuck, I`ll be back here looking for more help from you. Thanks again. I appreciate it.
    Elaine

  14. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    I had a friend that just bought an nVidia Card and has had nothing but problems with it. Searched the Internet on his problem and was very suprized by the number of people with the same problem. One of the drivers { I think the one that has to do with Downloading Video } would not work right no matter what you did. Me, I like nVidia & ATI, but the last 4 cards I have used building has been ATI from 7500 to 9000 and they worked great with no problems. But I don't care what card youuse you can get ahold of a bad one and have problems. Just cause ya get thrown from a horse doesn't mean you should be scared to get back on again. Living life to the fullest yer gonna get bitten a few times. Elaine I don't care which card you use { there both good cards } just make sure as Mark said that it will work with your Laptop.

  15. #15
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Fun

    Yeah money always has away of getting their attention. Sad, but true. Good luck.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •