Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Buttons (IE6)

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Glasgow, Lanarkshire
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Buttons (IE6)

    I have created web site glendale-residents.co.uk and everyone can access this site and see the navigation bar on the second page when online. It is only me who can not see my nav bar when on line. I have tried:
    1: Deleting all my temp internet files
    2: Checking java script is enabled
    To no avail...I can see other sites nav bar's ok I can't find a site were the nav bar buttons are missing except for www.glendale-residents.co.uk. Yet I can see the nav bar when running the site as local files on my computer
    I'm using I.E6. and Netscape 4.6 running on MS XP Pro

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Buttons (IE6)

    Does that frame load at all? If you right-click and refresh the frame, does that help?

    If you mouse over the table, do the buttons appear?

    Could you accidentally have added the URL to your Restricted Zone? (You could try changing your MouseOver function temporarily as follows:

    function MM_swapImage() { //v3.0

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Glasgow, Lanarkshire
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Buttons (IE6)

    I have located the problem. Norton Internet Security, Ad blocking is the culprit! <img src=/S/aflame.gif border=0 alt=aflame width=16 height=16> You set me thinking, easyspace banner I do not normally see this banner.

    Norton ad blocking seems to think my nav buttons are adverts <img src=/S/blackhole.gif border=0 alt=blackhole width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Buttons (IE6)

    Wow... I guess the workaround would be to insert actual images for non-Javascript users, and then in your script, get rid of the graphics and replace them, with your Dreamweaver-style buttons. Lot more work... but if most people don't find the buttons blocked, p'raps it's unnecessary.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Glasgow, Lanarkshire
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Buttons (IE6)

    Thanks for your reply, the problem was one of my folders /allpages/ NIS thought this was an advert I just had to adjust NIS to accept /allpages/ is not a advert, Seems NIS reads the sites address to stop advert's getting through some times it gets confused and has to be told what to do <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •