Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    I recently upgraded to IE6 and suddenly whenever I click on the IE icon, the program "sort of" opens but doesn't - i.e., it does not appear on my screen but if I go into the Close Program window, I can see iexplore listed. Before I realized what was happening, I would double click the icon once, then a second time when it didn't open, then a third time, etc. So, if you go into the Close Program window, it would be list two or three or four times and I would close each one and start again. I went into Control Panel/Add Remove Programs, selected Internet Explorer SP1 Internet Tools and selected Repair Internet Explorer and then let the computer reboot. The first time I tried to open IE after that it opened; the next time I tried to open it, the same problem occured. So, I am presently using my Yahoo browser but need to determine what is causing the IE problem. Can anyone help?

    Thanks


    cd

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    Is IE minimized to the Taskbar by chance?
    I have seen this happen many times.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Kel on 21-Apr-03 15:16. )</P>The actual position of Internet Explorer is controlled by the registry, and is sometimes logged as internet explorer is closed. Your best bet is to place I.E. as you want it to appear every time, then close out of the program using File... Close.

    9 times out of 10, this will retain the size/position settings for the browser.

    IF you're unable to even get it to this point, try setting your task bar to 'Auto-hide'. I've seen other programs 'semi-minimize' behind the task-bar, they show up as open, but you can't see them OR resize them. If this fails, right-click on the I.E. item inside the task bar, and select 'Move','Resize', or 'Maximize', to see if it shows up. Let us know how you fare, hopefully this will troubleshoot things a bit.

    Hope this helps!

    -K
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    Thanks Dave and Kel, however, Yes, it appears in the Taskbar - it always has. When I right-click, it does not give me the option to minimize, maximize, etc., so that doesn't seem to be an option for me either. I am really at my wits end as nothing seems to help. Each day since this happened, I have at least been able to get it open once but now that isn't working at all. What to do?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    Hi CD

    What browser are you using to access the Lounge? If it's IE, how are you opening it?
    Have you gone to:
    Start>Programs
    Right click on the IE icon
    Select Properties>Shortcut
    Click on the "Run" dropdown and select "Maximized"........this should also be available if you right click on the taskbar icon and select Properties>Shortcut>Run dropdown
    Click on "Apply"

    You could also try......Start>Run....enter "iexplore.exe" (no quotation marks) press enter key

    Once you have IE running, maximize the window and exit by cicking on File>Close

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    CD--

    Try the right click Ken gave you. If not, try to get the window open one of a couple ways. Open your "close program" box and on the applications tab at the bottom click the "switch to" button or restart and see if you can get it open. Also you can click History, and you might be able to go to the url where you got it open after the restart that one time. If you get it open, go to File>Close Window like Kel suggested, but also hold down the "Ctrl" key--sometimes that's an adjunct.

    2) Have you downloaded IE6SP1? Reason being is that on its list of fixes seems to be your problem (#3 on the list).

    3) KB's that might help: 218679: You Cannot Open New IE Window This is the best. It has you put "DllRegisterServer in urlmon.dll succeeded" in the run box--no quotes. Takes 3 seconds. Also at bottom if that doesn't work, says you can call Microsoft and get a free hotfix specific to fix this problem. Call 18009365700 Hit 2 'til midnight Eastern. Also 211068: Unable to Maximize or Resize IE Popup Windows This one has Ken's right click. Final KB may help is 194759: New IE Window Opens Partially Off Screen. Lists incl. 98 not ME but both are Win 9X so the regedit of eliminating 2 keys might work. If you do, set a system restore point. Also for future, you have "scan/reg restore" in ME--sometimes works when SR won't. It's not in NT/2K/XP.This is listed as a fix for ME in the big book on ME: Windows ME Secrets.

    Also from Sandi Hardmeir's IE site: Have window already open, but minimised to the taskbar. Drag the link down to the button, hold it there until the window opens then drop the link in.This link may be of assistance in some circumstances. But this looks like a one at a time bandaid at best and the things above look more like they can fix things.

    If you aren't fixed by now, I think they give you a reasonable shot. Hope this helps. Good luck.

    SMBP

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    CD--
    Also found this from IE MVP Sandi Hardmeier's Site. I included the link because her site has a lot of information and tips specific to IE:
    <font color=magenta>____________________________________ __________________________</font color=magenta>

    IE6 opens blank (empty) windows
    Try disabling *all* other programmes, including virus scanners, to see if there is an improvement. If not, proceed as follows:

    You probably have a broken entry in file associations.

    Go to my computer, view/folder options/file types (or control panel, folder options depending on your operating system).

    Scroll down to the URL:Hypertext Transfer Protocols, click edit twice and make sure the following is in the application used to perform action box:

    "C:PROGRAM FILESINTERNET EXPLORERiexplore.exe" -nohome

    The same applies for URL:Gopher

    DDE should be set to: "%1",,-1,0,,,,
    Application should say: IExplore
    DDE application not running should be blank
    Topic should be: WWW_OpenURL

    Mike Burgess MVP was kind enough to point out to me the other day that 'open in new window' is dependent on the following files, therefore you should ensure they are the correct version for your system, and correctly registered.

    Run the following commands from start/run. Run each line individually. After each run, you should see a short message stating the command was successful. The first command is the one most likely to work.

    regsvr32 Urlmon.dll

    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll

    regsvr32 Shell32.dll (only applicable to Windows ME, Windows 2000 and XP - if using an earlier operating system, run regsvr32 shdoc401.dll)



    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll


    It has been noted that replacing OLEAUT32.dll will work when all else has failed. Do that by following using Fix1 or Fix2 below:
    Fix 1: Microsoft Office 2000 or an Office 2000 Component Is Installed on Your Computer
    If Office 2000 or or an Office 2000 component is installed on your computer, obtain and install the Office 2000 Service Release 1 (SR-1). For information about how to do so, please visit the following Microsoft Web site:
    Office Info Prev. Versions


    Fix 2: Microsoft Office 2000 or an Office 2000 Component Is Not Installed on Your Computer
    If Office 2000 or or an Office 2000 component is not installed on your computer, obtain and install the Mcrepair.exe tool. To do so, please visit the following Microsoft Web site, save the Mcrepair.exe file to the desktop, and then run Mcrepair.exe:
    Patch Downloaded Here
    Also, some other programmes that control pop up windows and advertisements can prevent this facility from working. Disable all third party internet related programmes and test.
    <font color=magenta>____________________________________ _________________________</font color=magenta>

    SMBP

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    Here's an update to all who provided advise. It is (finally) working somewhat. I tried a lot of the suggestions, i.e., file associations, going into Start, Run and re-registering various files. My success has been so-so, except that it does not work in some respects. One thing that is happening now is that once I get IE open, I can be working for quite some time and suddenly no matter what I click, NOTHING HAPPENS! If I wait and wait, sometimes seconds, sometimes a minute or more, it seems to come out of its coma, starts working again and is fine until next time.

    Last night I had the brillant idea to uninstall IE6, re-install IE5, which I still had on my computer and be done with it. At some point in the process I got a message saying the complete uninstall was not possible. If I then tried to install IE5, I got a message saying I already had a later versions, so it stopped! After all that was done, I tried to run IE 6 again and got a message saying I was missing files and it immediately went to the internet and started downloading the files for me. Once that was done, I tried to go back into Control Panel and although the Control Panel window was there, there were no icons in it! So, today after trying to do a system restore from Start/Propgrams/Accessories/System Tools (which did not work either), I called Gateway and we did a manual restore from Start/Run and that finally worked. Now I am back to IE which works sort of but is not wonderful. Microsoft was absolutely no help at all, didn't even answer when I tried to post the problem. So, thanks again for all the advise, it at least got it working again even if not in tip top shape.

    I would one day like to get rid of Windows ME which I think is horrible and upgrade to XP but I don't know if I am emotionally ready to reformat this hard drive and start fresh - unless I take a two week vacation to be able to do it.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 and Windows ME (Version 6)

    Really sorry you had to try so much with partial results. One of the moves that's supposed to help you get IE6 reinstalled and prevent that "already have later versions" message is to go to
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftActive SetupInstalled Components{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383} click on it then right click on Value Name: IsInstalled and modify the value from 1 to 0. This may have no bearing, but with any IE serious freezes or partially open windows, I don't think it would ever hurt to try unchecking "Enable third party browser extensions" on the advanced tab of Tools>Internet Options which alludes to browser helpers (BHO's) that can act as spyware and jam you up.

    If you back up what you need to save, and go to XP I think you will be really happy with what you have--particularly after some of the headaches and crashes ME (which is known to leak memory) can bring. Do it with a clean install of XP rather than upgrading from ME by all means.

    SMBP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •