Thanks

Stability of Access XP (XP / SP2)

Two of us in our office are developing databases in Access XP. Mine is about 7 meg.
    Almost daily, there is a failure; usually just after writing a query; between the time of writing and viewing.
    Sometimes we can save and sometimes not.

We have been dutifully sending in the Error Reports (do they really go anywhere?) and
    have seen a few suggestions. The latest was to get JET 4.0 SP7
    Alan

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: Stability of Access XP (XP / SP2)

I've been running XP for nearly 2 years and not seen those kind of stability problems, so it probably has something to do with your environment. So some environment questions are in order:
    <UL><LI>Do you have other versions of Office installed as well?
    <LI>Is your LAN a solid one with not apparent hardware problems?
    <LI>Are you saving your database on a server or on the local hard drives?
    <LI>Are you both developing in the same database?
    <LI>Are you using Visual Source Safe?
    <LI>Are your hardware configurations identical, or nearly so, and what video card and driver are you using?
    <LI>What is the actual crash message you are getting?
    <LI>How long have you been getting crashes (if it's recently started, what has changed with your systems)?[/list]I'll probably think of some more, but that should be enough to get the debugging process started.
    Wendell

Thanks

1. No other versions of Office but do have Visual Studio
    2. Solid LAN -- 35 other people have no problems
    3. Saving to server
    4. Developing in different DBs on different servers
    5. Don't have Source Safe installed
    6. I have desktop and the other is on laptop
    7. "Access has detected and error. Do you want to close and compact" or something to that effect.
    8. Started when I created my DB about 2 months ago. Some days I go all day without a crash. Last Friday it died 6 times.