Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SR-3 and Office Premium (O2k Premium and w2k)

    I have tried a couple of times to install the SR3 update. Part of the installation process talks about an Office 2000 Professional Update requires that I direct it to a location with the file data1.msi. Unfortunately my premium CDs have a set of msi files of the format data1std.msi, data1pro.msi; data1prm.msi, and each of the individual applications as in data1wrd.msi. the update does not recognise these as a valid response to wanting data1.msi.

    Am I missing something?

    Mike C

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SR-3 and Office Premium (O2k Premium and w2k)

    From Microsoft:

    Prior to installing SP3, you must install Office 2000 Service Release 1a (SR1a) Update.

    Before you install this update, make sure that you are currently using the SR1 versions of all the Office 2000 applications that are installed on your machine.

    To determine if Office 2000 SR1 is currently installed on your computer
    1. In Microsoft Windows

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SR-3 and Office Premium (O2k Premium and w2k)

    Thanks for your reply. I have checked exactly where I am and find that all 5 of the major office apps are at SR1, along with "office pro" and "office pre". I do have installer v2 installed. Windows Update prompts me to install SR3 - its just that it then fails to find data1.msi on the original installation disks - or on my hard disk.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SR-3 and Office Premium (O2k Premium and w2k)

    Try to rename corresponding msi file to data1.msi : if you installed Premium - rename data1prm.msi, if you installed Professional - rename data1pro.msi etc.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SR-3 and Office Premium (O2k Premium and w2k)

    Are these standard Office installation CDs? My Office Premium (SR1) had only a single data1.msi on it.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SR-3 and Office Premium (O2k Premium and w2k)

    They were certainly loaned to me by our Administrators. All desktop machines are centrally managed, but I am a laptop user and we still do these locally. Just plain opfce premium disks, along with a SP1/SP2 supplement which I also loaded.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SR-3 and Office Premium (O2k Premium and w2k)

    Ah, then these are NOT standard, off-the-shelf Office CDs. What happens if you just point the installer at the appropriate msi for the version instead of looking for data1.msi? It should work but I've never tried it that way.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •