Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    Hi,
    I have an application that is developed in access 97 and uses the runtime version when I put it at a customers site. It is a marketing tool and people can do selections on their data and save these selections in the sqlserver database behind the access front end. These selections are displayed in tree views and work on over a hundred pc's except at one customers site. I works fine on the server (which is windows 2000), but not on the desktops (which are XP professional with SP1). The issue is that when they open our program and try to view their selections in the tree view it is blank, if they go ino another tab in the application and then back to the selection tab the tree view is now populated. I have unregistered and re-registered a new mscomctl.ocx and this has made no difference. I have set up multiple test machines with XP on and cannot replicate the error. I have attached a zip of the screen shots to show what is happening. I hope someone can help me here :-)

    Many thanks,
    Paul.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    Since the TreeView does get populated after switching to another tab page and back, the Treeview control (in MSComCtl.ocx) does not seem to be the problem.

    To make Access 97 work correctly on Windows XP, you must make sure that the latest updates for Office 97 and for Jet Engine 3.5 have been installed. Visit the Microsoft support site to get these if necessary.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by HansV on 25-Apr-03 10:41. attached picture was very large; cropped to show relevant portion only.)</P>No, no! This is exactly the same issue I am having! If you look closely at the treeview in the first picture Paul posted, the control has actually fallen out of it's frame! I believe it's due to being on tab controls. (Although you can't see it, mine is on a hidden tab control). I'm using Access XP SP2 - does anyone know if Microsoft have a fix for this problem? I've scoured the MSDN and Technet sites for weeks... This does seem to be an issue only with the newer versions of mscomctl, as I don't remember it happening in my system before I converted to XP.

    I think we're either going to have to revert to an older version of the OCX, or not use tabs (switch visibility in the foreground).

    Regards,
    Tim
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (5.2 KB, 0 views)

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    If the Treeview or any subform or other control is too large to fit completely into the tab page when fully expanded then you will run into this behavior. Tab pages are a fixed size, so objects that are too large to fit completely on the page get shifted around and only partially displayed. There is no "fix" for this because it is normal and expected behavior for a tab control. Tabs are just a means of displaying only selected objects and hiding others, they are not intelligent controls.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    Thanks Charlotte, I understand that if you expand the nodes then you'll need to scroll to see everything in the treeview, but what's happening here is that the treeview control itself is falling out of it's "shell", and appearing in the absolute top-left of the screen. This only happens after manipulating (adding nodes, removing nodes) during runtime, but even in design mode when I double click it to check it's properties, it shifts to the top left (see picture). It's really odd behaviour - I swear it wasn't happening in the old versions of MSCOMCTL. It's also happening with my listview. I'm running MSCOMCTL.OCX version 6.0.88.77, and this behaviour is happening in both Win2K and WinXP (both running Access XP).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    I'm not sure where you got the version of MSCOMCTL.OCX - I'm running Office XP SP2 and I have version 6.0.81.77 - I have a pretty vanilla install with no extra apps or anything like .NET. You might try reverting to the earlier version and see if that fixes your problem. We routinely had problems with different versions of MSCOMCTL and it's predecessor COMCTL32 and finally began using a third party control that doesn't have umpteen versions floating around.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    FWIW, I see the same behavior in Access 2002 (SP2) on Windows XP Home (SP1), and not only in conjunction with a tab control. The version of Mscomctl.ocx on my PC is 6.1.95.45; it came pre-installed on my PC (Dell, January 2003).

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    Thanks guys, I'll try an earlier version (I'm going to try a few other tricks too, now that I know there's no easy fix - will post my findings here) - can you recommend a good 3rd party treeview and listview control? [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    We've had good luck with the OCX controls from DBI Technologies. In particular, their treeview works on a rather different principle than the Microsoft one, but it loads and unloads much quicker, particularly if you are working with a nested treeview. We normally use the MS listbox, as we don't seem to have any problems with it.
    Wendell

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    Thanks so much for your help guys. I am convinced now that there's no bugfix for this, and that it's either a work-around or use-a-different-product issue. However, for future generations, I will document my findings (and a rather nasty, but useable, workaround) here:
    It seems to happen only on tab controls that don't currently have the focus -- you can do whatever you want if the treeview(s) are on the screen at the time of manipulation. This has also happened to me with listviews.
    However, if you change to the tab, and it's corrupt, you can switch to another tab and come back again and it should be right.

    Now, for the nasty workaround: as switching tabs seems to correct the problem, when a tab is clicked you need to fire some code to switch off the tab and back on. Something along the lines of

    'to ensure the treeviews display properly
    If tabWizard = 1 Then
    DoCmd.Echo False
    tabWizard.Pages(0).SetFocus
    tabWizard.Pages(1).SetFocus
    DoCmd.Echo True
    End If

    Thanks again guys,
    Tim

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tree View Issue (Access 97)

    Hi guys I've been off sick for a while so haven't been able to try the fixes suggested. In the end I unregistered the mscomctl.ocx and registered an older version and this worked fine. But I will need to apply the workaround detailed so that I do not have this problem in the future.

    Many thanks,
    Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •