Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    I'm having trouble with a new computer that I built. Some games that I am trying to run simply will not get past the inital pop-up screens before crashing to the desktop. This is also true of Windows 2000, but they seem to work fine in 98.

    My question is this. Because I have tried just about everything I know, I was wanting to see if changing the file system from NTFS to FAT32 has anything to do with it. Will the XP Backup utility let me backup my NTFS file system then restore it to a FAT32 volume?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    Sounds like a Video Card problem to me. Is the Video Card the same one your useing in Win98? Do you have the most recent Drivers for your Video Card with your New OS? What OS are you useing in your new Computer? I guess a better thing for you to do is tell us what your new computer is and whats in it.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    You might want to install <!mskb=327979>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 327979<!/mskb> which has the title "Game Stops Responding (Hangs) or Quits Unexpectedly When Introductory Video Clip Is Played"

    StuartR

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    Well its a dead point now because I loaded XP on a different drive with fat32 and it still crashed. I also ran all the XP updates including the one listed. I'm game for more help if anyone is interested.

    My old computer ran these games just fine in XP and 2000 and even had the same graphics card and drivers. This new computer is a custom build with a BIOSTAR M7VIT Pro mb, 512 DDR Ram, and has a GeForce4 MX 440 video card with 64MB DDR Ram. When I loaded the different OS's they were all on this computer that I'm working on. I loaded 2000 with NTFS, WinXP Pro with NTFS, then XP Pro with FAT32. None worked. In the middle there I loaded Win98 and it worked great, then did an upgraded to 2000 on top of the 98 and it died again.

    This is bizarre. I'm 99 percent sure it's something in a (probably totally unrelated) system board driver, but I can't get it narrowed down. I've even used generic drivers for the LAN, Audio, IO and Video and even the newest drivers for each and still nothing.

    Also I forgot to say that I also tried to run them in XP with 95, 98, and 2000 compatibility mode but nothing helped.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    What's the original source for this information?
    -Mark

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    I have been reading about people that are having problems with GeForce4 MX 440 video card hanging up on games and the system. Some fixed thier problem with some changes in BIOS settings, others accerlerator settings and others took them back and bought ATI.

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    Which post? If your talking about the Card. Do a Google Search for GeForce4 MX 440 Problems or Problems With GeForce4 MX 440.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    No, I meant the steps for converting a drive to NTFS. Partition Magic can also reverse the process, but Windows itself can't. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    OH. That will be good for him if it can.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    Thanks guy for the help. I had been using NTFS and was curious if it would run on Fat32 so I was wanting to go the other way. Above I mentioned that I already load XP with a FAT file system and it didn't help so that idea is shot.

    I have seen others with MX 440 problems too, so I put in an ATI Radeon 8500. Still crashed. I'm trying to get an exchange on the MB but to get a different motherboard ECONOPC.COM is trying to charge me 15% restocking fee! It never stops.

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    Have you checked your BIOS settings for your Video? Maybe there might be a few changes you could make. And as you suggest , it could be the Motherboard or Chipset. But I would check and see if making some adjustments in BIOS might help. Are you running a VIA chipset? If so have you installed the New 4-1 Drivers?

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    Maybe http://www.playingonline.info/tech/techconvert.php ? Looks like a word for word copy to me.

  13. #13
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    I did copy it for him to read. Why am I not supposed to? It just seemed a little faster then putting a shortcut to the page. I'm not writing a book to publish.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    Two points:

    1] <!rule=13>Rule 13<!/rule> covers the reproduction of copyright material.
    2] I think it is to most peoples benefit to know the source of the information, for reference if nothing else.

    It may be a moot point now, but basically you stated an incorrect 'fact' which Mark corrected. By posting a link to the information, users who wish to query or look for expansion on a point know whether to refer to the poster or the source of the information. Posting an extract from an external source - giving full credit to it - is probably the most efficient and 'correct' method.

    Please do not misunderstand me - I am in no way wishing to diminish the recognition due to you for the time you spend in making constructive and helpful posts. My concerns are primarily in ensuring the Lounge's standards and legal obligations are upheld, and that everyone gets the best out of their visit here.

    OK? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP Backup and file system change (XP SP1)

    I was in a hurry and was getting ready to leave to go somewhere, but I understand, to a point. Credit is not something I was trying to take. Heck I don't even bother with that when it's my Idea. But I will be more, uh, forthcoming in the future for references purpose. And if the "fact" was incorrect, I didn't state it, I copied it. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15> Dang, if I had just let him read it for himself, we could of blamed the writer for his incorrect statement. <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23> OH well, Live and learn.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •