Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adding network printers (Pro)

    How can I set up networked printers on an XP box so that anyone who logs in to the domain can have access to a certain printer? As it stands now, every time someone new logs into the XP PC, I must physically map the printer to their specific profile. I want to default a mapped printer to any/every profile on the PC.

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding network printers (Pro)

    Did you set it up for Print Sharing?

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding network printers (Pro)

    Yes I did. People are able to print from WIN98 clients, but not through this XP machine. It's wierd that I have to map each user to the same printer on the domain, even though they are logging into the domain with shared folers

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adding network printers (Pro)

    Did you do this mapping as "The Administrator" or as a user on the XP machines?
    And do you have the "MS FireWall" turned off"

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding network printers (Pro)

    "This is a feature, not a bug". XP (actually anything NT-based) separates most settings by user. This way different users on the same PC can have different wallpapers, different sounds, different printers... The same can be done in Windows 95/98 as well but has to be set up to separate the users' information.

    I agree that it is a pain for the printers though. The only way I've heard of so far is to map the printers through a logon script, either using Windows commands or a script language such as KiXtart.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding network printers (Pro)

    To achieve this, I go to My Network Places, click on Entire Network, and keep clicking down until it shows all of the computers and printers. Then highlight a particular printer, right click, and click on "Connect". We have all our printers set this way. No mapping needed.

    Good luck. Joel

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adding network printers (Pro)

    If you have a network printer configured with static IP address, install it on your workstation as local printer.

    To do so, write down the IP address (it can be done, for example, from config menu on the printer).
    Then on your computer, click Start | Printers and Faxes | Add a printer icon on the left pane.
    On the wizard, click Next on the first screen,
    "Local printer..." UNchecking "Automatically detect" on the next screen,
    "Create a new port" radio button and choosing "Standard TCP/IP port" on the next screen,
    "Next" on the next wizard,
    typing IP address (as 100.20.300.40) in "Printer name or IP Address" box (you can leave "Port name" box blank),
    accepting "Generic - Standard network card" on the next screen,
    clicking "Finish" on the Port wizard
    and choosing printer make and model (or installing drivers from the disk) on the next screen etc.

    This printer must exist in all user profiles.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding network printers (Pro)

    Worked like a charm! Thanks alot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •